Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Unity 2020.1 Is Now Available

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by LeonhardP, Jul 14, 2020.

  1. Kan15hkSMT

    Kan15hkSMT

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2019
    Posts:
    37
    I am updating from Unity 2020.1.0b13. After b13, when I tried to update to b16 this TMP showed up. So I am assuming somewhere between those 2 versions is where the issue lies and is still present in the official 2020 release. TMP is already on version 3.0.0 so that hasn't been updated.

    We do not use any Assembly Definitions for our scripts.

    Could you recommend how I can confirm if there is a source control issue that is causing the TMP bug?
     
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    4,679
    What version of 2020.1 are you using right now? 2020.1.0f1 is the latest. The latest version of TMP for 2020.x is version 3.0.1 which is available via the package manager.

    I would recommend making a backup of the project and then using this backup, delete the Library folder and project solution files to see if the issue goes away after that. Again make sure you test this on some backup.
     
  3. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    Yes, the fix didn't land yet. It's currently being reviewed. I meant to say that it has been fixed internally, sorry for the confusion.
     
  4. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,685
    Ah... :)

    Any idea what version will get it? It's a pretty nasty bug... :(
     
  5. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    Nothing definitive but it's a high priority issue. The only thing I can say is that it's not going to make it into a20. You will know that it will arrive within the next two releases of one of the affected major versions, once the Issue Tracker status for those versions changes to fixed.

    2020-07-30_17-51-50.png
     
    APSchmidt likes this.
  6. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,685
    The issue tracker status has been modified, it's clearer now.

    Capture d’écran_2020-07-31_07-29-27.png
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  7. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,266
    Hmm. First project I opened (2018.4). Began to convert, and then "Unity.licensing.client has stopped working" dialog. Followed by a whole bunch of shader compiler dialogs stopped working.
     
  8. firstuser

    firstuser

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    Not sure if this might help you but try do an intermediate conversion where you upgrade to 2019.4.6 first then to 2020.1, had to do that workaround in the past on other versions.
     
  9. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,266
    Reopening fixed it. I think the issue was that Visual Studio was also open, and popped up a dialog because the solution changed during the upgrade.
     
  10. lindgrenfabian

    lindgrenfabian

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Is it just me or is 2020.1.0f1 a lot slower than the previous version? I used to be able to start the game in a second, but now I get this for ~5-15 seconds every time i start the app, with no changes to the code.
    upload_2020-8-4_2-29-19.png
    Update, tried to just close the game running and now i've been stuck at this for 4 minutes
    upload_2020-8-4_2-37-55.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2020 at 1:38 AM
  11. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,266
    No, it's not just you. It feels significantly slower to me also. The official response during the beta was it was always this slow, but we didn't realize it without the dialog. However, comparing it to 2018.4 it feels much slower to open and execute.
     
  12. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    If your project or the Editor is running slower with 2020.1 compared to previous versions, please submit bug reports, ideally with reproduction projects.


    Can you please point out where this has been said? Just to clarify, if there is a measurable regression in performance, then that's something we will look into if you can provide us with a reproducible. It is just a possibility that, since the "Hold on..." message has been introduced in 2020.1, you are now being made aware of waiting times that you haven't noticed before. If waiting times are now actually longer or if there are more waiting times than before, that's an issue.
     
    firstuser likes this.
  13. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,266
    I reviewed the earlier thread and you're correct, I was paraphrasing badly, and that is not what was said. I retract my statement and apologize.
     
    LeonhardP likes this.
  14. FlipGizmo

    FlipGizmo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    I'm having this problem too. Any new states I create show up fine but most preexisting states/blend trees/transitions, especially inside sub-states, are blank in the inspector so I can't edit them. Even if I duplicate a blank state it still doesn't display anything. The animator is currently unusable.
     
    chrisabranch likes this.
  15. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
    The affected states don't show up in the inspector due to changes in the Animation Controller caused by this bug: https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/product/unity/issues/guid/1251586/

    This bug has been fixed since 2019.4.4 and 2020.1.b14 (that's why new files work as expected) but unfortunately already affected files have to be modified manually to be fixed.

    To fix the issue in your project, open the affected Animation Controllers externally (via a text editor) and change the m_ObjectHideFlags property for the affected states from 3 to 1.
     
    FlipGizmo, chrisabranch and firstuser like this.
  16. illyTheKid

    illyTheKid

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Does anyone have issues with Visual Studio after updating? VS doesn't complete Unity code anymore. Typing stuff like Debug and GameObject isn't highlighted either.
     
  17. FlipGizmo

    FlipGizmo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    This fixed the issue, thanks.

    Very important to uncheck 'Always use this app to open .controller files' when opening in notepad, otherwise the animator controller gets corrupted when duplicating. I don't know how to reset the file association after that happens.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  18. chrisabranch

    chrisabranch

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Go to Edit / preferences / External Tools. in External script editor add Visual Studio.
     
  19. firstuser

    firstuser

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    VS and VS Code (on mac at least) have been breaking for me on every version combination since both products released, most common issue being exactly what you're describing with autocomplete getting disabled.

    I know this doesn't solve your issue but if you are able to switch to Rider I'd highly recommend it, no issues with autocomplete breaking since the switch (although I have tested VS time to time and within a day or two run into same autocomplete gone issue)
     
  20. FlipGizmo

    FlipGizmo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Which version of Visual Studio are you using? I had tons of trouble with 2017 not linking to the editor, but I haven't had any trouble with 2019.
     
  21. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,114
unityunity