Search Unity

  1. We are looking for your feedback about Templates! Tell us about your experiences by taking our survey.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Curious about what's going to be in 2021.1? Have a look at the 2021.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity 2020.1.0 Beta 1 has been released

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by davidlovegrove, Mar 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davidlovegrove

    davidlovegrove

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Posts:
    206
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    2020 is already out of Alpha? Time flies...
     
    createtheimaginable likes this.
  3. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,650
    Spent the last 3h on that beta, and this loading popup isn't getting worse since a21? a22?
    The waiting time is horrible and I hitthe 30s each time I reload script and then again pressing play.
    It's really turning out to be a mad thing, please that "AssetDataBase.Refresh" means nothing. You should have wrote "Going KFC, forgotten my keys.".
     

    Attached Files:

    GilCat and Fenixake like this.
  4. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,960
    It's a feature that lets you see when the editor is processing. The dialog just didn't show up on the older versions so you may have just not been aware of the wait times (like you are now when you see the dialog with a wait time).

    More about it here: https://forum.unity.com/threads/lots-of-busy-hold-on-etc.833644/
     
    JoNax97 and sama-van like this.
  5. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,650
    It's not a feature, it's a debug mode which block access to editor and make Unity rubish.
    It's seems some many user complaining and still Unity trying to justify S***.

    Sorry for being rude, but its making my day waiting for S***, cannot even access editor for 30s even if I rename a damn variable or add a Debug.Log.
    All become soooooo annoying.

    Was working totaly find before adding it.

    Just remove it.
     
  6. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    446
    If you read the thread liked above, you would see that the dialogue appears when the editor is already blocked for some reason. It's adding no downtime to the editor, and it's not blocking anything. It's there just to let you know that the engine is doing something and it's not just frozen.
     
  7. jasonatkaruna

    jasonatkaruna

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    64
    WOW!
    • Serialization: Fix for field marked as [SerializeReference] and having a static types of System.Object that were not being serialized. (1191992)

    Thank you so much!!!! I wasn't sure if this was a bug or intended, so I was worried I'd have to write up a JSON Editor field. Super glad I don't have to anymore!
     
  8. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    393
    This is a poor excuse for this s#itty feature. I don’t remember Unity 2017 or 18 doing something similar, every 5 damn seconds.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
    nxrighthere and sama-van like this.
  9. JoNax97

    JoNax97

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    446
    Ok think whatever you want
     
    2dchaos likes this.
  10. id0

    id0

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts:
    393
    It's not how I think, it's how things really are. And you, and people like you, can continue to justify unity, no matter what rubbish it does.
    In fact, things are getting worse with every release. I don’t understand why my small pixel platformer project, which has nothing but sprites, weighs over 400 mb, endlessly compiles some shaders and some f@king asset cash, and loading forever. This is not even funny.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2020
    nxrighthere likes this.
  11. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,960
    This sort of debate doesn't help anyone. Unity also knows editor is slower now than say, few years ago. That's not what the person implied on the message before though. They now have a popup that makes it just more obvious which I understand can split opinions but it doesn't make a) things slower b) more obstructive (unless they really messed up something on the implementation).

    I totally understand it can be seen as annoying as it now makes it more obvious how slow things truly are but I also see it as a tool to observe the wait times more objectively now. In past it was based mostly on feelings and we all know people are not that great at estimating wait periods on their own. Now that they actually see the time it takes, it brings outcry here in the forums without people realizing the dialog itself not being the issue here.

    I'm actually quite hopeful that now that people actually see the real wait times, they can give better feedback about the slow things that may have gone unnoticed in the past.
     
  12. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,942
    It was discussed that the popup can be disabled in preferences, not sure if that is already in this release.

    But when that lands you can turn the distracting popup off.
     
    sama-van, createtheimaginable and id0 like this.
  13. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,883
    I think it will help Unity staff come closer to the goal of 0.5ms response times and I ask people be civil when giving feedback... there is a way to talk to human beings and being rude isn't it.
     
    Peter77 and JoNax97 like this.
  14. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    5,509
    Wasn't the goal 500ms rather than 0.5ms? I mean good for them to reach for the stars, but even 500ms is quite ambitious ;)
     
    konsic, hippocoder and JoNax97 like this.
  15. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,883
    ..... probably... .. . . . I might've posted late at night :D

    0.5s would still be nice :D
     
    konsic and Peter77 like this.
  16. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
    @davidlovegrove I seem to have some flickering in the background (z-fighting?) which wasn’t there in the alpha I think. Switching MSAA on in my URP renderer appears to fix this. Pretty sure (but not 100% positive) MSAA wasn’t on before my upgrade and I wasn’t having any issues then.
     
  17. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    There is often flickering when you test a game just after upgrading it. Quitting Unity and restarting it is generally enough to fix the problem. Maybe you should have done that before switching to MSAA. You can still revert and see what happens though. :)
     
  18. bugfinders

    bugfinders

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Posts:
    208
    @hippocoder are you able to fix the fact that on the front part of the forum, this still shows as 2020.1 alpha?
     
  19. konsic

    konsic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    995
    0.5ms for everything would be even nicer.
     
  20. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,883
    Nope, that's not something mods have access to but @UnityMaru will if you howl just right :)
     
    bugfinders likes this.
  21. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,960
    I hope he can summon 2020.2 alpha forums up as well :cool:
     
    mjc33 likes this.
  22. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,883
    The ever-classy @AskCarol might not be an admin for nothing ;)
     
  23. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
    I restarted about 4 times before the MSAA thing. But thanks for the “have you tried restarting” advice. Always good to be reminded after 30+ years working with computers! ;)

    And yes, the flickering did come back when I switched MSAA back off, hence my reporting the issue to this forum.
     
  24. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    3,894
    Sorry about that; I know that I should avoid interfering sometimes.
     
    transat likes this.
  25. Davedub

    Davedub

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Posts:
    22
  26. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
  27. AlkisFortuneFish

    AlkisFortuneFish

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    858
    His very valid point is: That popup is not what is causing the delays, it's *showing* that there are delays. The delays being there at all is the regression that needs to be reported, screaming about the popup doesn't help fix the underlying performance issues that need to be addressed.
     
  28. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,407
    Fixed that, thanks for spotting.
     
  29. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,407
    I'm closing this thread. It shouldn't have been open for replies in the first place.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity