Search Unity

Unity 2017.2.0f3 Instantiate bug?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Liaram, Oct 21, 2017.

  1. Liaram

    Liaram

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Is anyone else having odd problems with Instantiate in the new version?

    Instantiate(somePrefab, new Vector3(40f, 0f, 0f), Quaternion.identity);

    It looks like prefabs briefly get instantiated at the prefab's original position (say at world 0,0,0) even though a new position is stated in-line. The prefab's awake gets called at the original position too and prewarmed particles also briefly appear at the original position rather than at the stated position.
     
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,618
  3. Liaram

    Liaram

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    That's the one.

    "Fixed in future release". Guess I'll just ignore it until next patch.
    The particle problem is probably just because of this as well.

    I did actually search for it but my searches came up a goose egg.

    Thanks Peter
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  4. studentutu

    studentutu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Posts:
    121
    It seems
    2017.2.0f3 is a real pain in the ass. Try purge it with .deb file: sudo dpkg --purge unity-editor. Then try install it via Official Installer:
    2017.3.0b1: http://beta.unity3d.com/download/2ca68d182788/public_download.html
    So, here's how it works:
    • Get the download assistant
    • Make it executable, via your file manager or the command line (chmod +x UnitySetup-2017.3.0b1)
    • Run it, via your file manager or the command line (./UnitySetup-2017.3.0b1)
    • Follow the prompts

    The dependencies for the download assistant are:
    • gtk2 (libgtk2.0-0)
    • libsoup (libsoup2.4-1)
    • libarchive (libarchive13) (with support for xar, cpio, tar, gzip, and xz)