Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

[Unity 2017.1.1f1] [Windows x86_64] Building error & corrupted 2D sprites

Discussion in 'Windows' started by ArtfxUBrawl1, Feb 8, 2018.

  1. ArtfxUBrawl1

    ArtfxUBrawl1

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hello everybody,

    I'm working on a 2D project on Unity 2017.1 and I have stumbled upon some problems when building my project for Windows (x86_64 & x86) : several sprites (like, almost every sprites) are corrupted when launching the game via the executable, while they appear as perfectly normal during editor play. On build, they appear either as grey images with small colour artefacts (as in printing test page) either as graphic noise. Animated sprites are fine but blinks.

    Here is the error :
    I've already done some research about this problem and no solution worked :
    • My build folder weights 5.44 Gb and my Resources one 3.44 Mb
    • Each sprite is set to Texture Type -> Sprite (2D and UI)
    • Mip maps are disabled

    I'm working with 2 plugins : Universal Fighting Engine and ProCamera2D; and my GPU is Geforce GTX 1060 with DirectX 12.

    Thanks,
    Jason C.
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Are there any other errors in your console?
     
  3. ArtfxUBrawl1

    ArtfxUBrawl1

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I have some Wwise errors (that's normal at this stage of development) and an unused shader error. I tried to remove them both in order to see if they hid something else, but no, the error disappeared, the problem remains.
    The artefacts are different this time but images are still unrecognisable .
    I removed the compression of some images, tried to build on another computer (but with same architecture), no difference.

    Here is the main menu:
    corrupted.png
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    To be honest, I have no idea what's going on here. Can we get a bug report?
     
  5. ArtfxUBrawl1

    ArtfxUBrawl1

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I have done it today. That's the case 1001967.
    In the meantime, I have upgraded my engine to the last version (2017.3.0p3) to see if there was any changes, but no, the problem remains the same
     
  6. ArtfxUBrawl1

    ArtfxUBrawl1

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I tried to convert my png to a jpg and the problem disappeared.
    I still don't know where does this problem comes from.
     
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Thanks, we'll get in touch!