Search Unity

Unity 2.5 Coming Soon! (the official announcement)

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by HiggyB, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ~LK~

    ~LK~

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    75
    The Unity indie version has a watermark? If so, in what form?
     
  2. jashan

    jashan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3,296
    Not exactly a watermark. See first posting of this thread (there's an FAQ):

    Sunny regards,
    Jashan
     
  3. ~LK~

    ~LK~

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    75

    I checked it again, and found nothing on watermarks concerning Unity Indie. I did see a Splash screen at the beginning of your game for Indie, but that's not even close to being a watermark. Are people incorrectly calling the splash screen requirement a watermark, or am I just missing the info somewhere.

    < To clarify, a watermark to my definition is a constant mark on the screen during game play.>
     
  4. aaronsullivan

    aaronsullivan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    983
    @~LK~
    You are right about the definition of watermark, and you're right about people misunderstanding. There is no watermark in Unity Indie 2.5 as I understand it, only a splash screen.
     
  5. TJB

    TJB

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    The current web player published with indie and played on windows has a water mark. That's probably why the term popped up. But I'm pretty sure this is disappearing with 2.5 and they're just going to have splash screens.
     
  6. ~LK~

    ~LK~

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    75
    Thanks guys for the clarification. A "true" watermark would be a no-go for me so My heart was skipping a couple beats.

    I don't mind splash screens, in fact I would include one regardless (as long as their not cheesy like certain other engines I won't name).

    Thanks again
     
  7. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    You can get publishing, but the rest of that is Pro-only so I'm not sure what we can offer you other than an abso-freakin'-lutely amazing tool for only $199, or an even better and more amazing tool for only $1499. :)

    And as noted, Mac/Win publishing is coming to Indie in the Unity 2.5 release.
     
  8. yeti42

    yeti42

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    just because you put it like that, i'll be checking it out.
     
  9. ryanzec

    ryanzec

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Posts:
    680
    I could care less about the videos and c++ plugin support but, and forgive me fore asking, what is render to texture? I tried googling it and I did not find any real descriptive results.
     
  10. Oniken

    Oniken

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    37
    May I ask what is render to texture?
     
  11. nickavv

    nickavv

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,801
    From what I understand, it lets you render a camera onto the texture of a different object.

    A good example would be a Jumbotron screen at a sporting event.

    Not sure what other uses it might have. :p
     
  12. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    render to texture are in the DX universe commonly called Render Targets, in OpenGL commonly FrameBufferObjects (FBOs).

    What they do is allow you to render the camera view into a texture buffer instead of the back buffer, so you can use the texture as "data buffer" for further shaders.

    They are required for some specific post rendering effects and especially for reflection refraction and shadows.

    But thats more or less about it, a large amount of shader effects don't require render textures.
    Examples for that are Normal mapping, parallax mapping, relief mapping or the terrains realtime texture blending.
     
  13. theinfomercial

    theinfomercial

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,000
    Render to textures are post effects. They are used for rendering what the camera sees and either applying it to textures or having post effect textures put on top of it.

    Edit: Geez. Lets all just post the answer all at once, shall we? :p
     
  14. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    Render to texture is... oh, wait, I don't wanna be fourth in line. :)


    @yeti42: do it, with a quick first hand exploration of Unity I think you'll find yourself quite pleased with how enabling our tool really is.
     
  15. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    699
    Hi all, RenderTarget access quite interesting to me.
    I asked a question what license is requred to get an access to RenderTarget. I found an answer here that I need at least a pro. I'm new to UT and let me please ask a newbie question.

    I would like to access D3D surface pointer to RT. Is RT in UT an abtracted object? I haven't seen an API description about it but C++ plugin comes to my mind. Is this possible using c++ plugin? If so, I would appreciate if someone can show me how to access RT in UT. The c++ plugin example is too simple and does show how to access any UT objects.


    The reason I'm asking is that I would like to overlay WPF on top of UT and I need a handle of RT surface.
    Thank you very much.
     
  16. 1stAnd10

    1stAnd10

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    So....I'm ready. :)

    No...seriously, I am. So...you can...put it up for download anytime that is good for you. Seriously I'm not kidding guys, I really am ready for it. So...yeah. :)
     
  17. DrHotbunz

    DrHotbunz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Render in texture is what I need to make my Jumbo-tron in the outfield kick ass !


     
  18. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    699
    Cool, Did you write a custom plug-in or UT abstract it and let you use RT texture as form of texture in the Editor?
    Being able to use it just in the editor does not help in my case.
    Can we access the RT surface pointer from C++ plugin?

    Thanks.
     
  19. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Unity lets you use rentertextures like other textures :)

    You only need C++ plugins for graphical stuff if you want to implement some quite advanced stuff. Mainly I would say its not used for graphical stuff as that is pretty simple and powerfull in Unity, but to add specific functionality from C libraries.

    Good examples for that are the wii remote plugin, alternative networking libraries etc.

    C++ plugins through are no trivial thing. You need to be an advanced C# user to have fun there as you must write interfacing code (System.InteropServices) to work with the plugin. It will not appear as regular .NET functionality that you can just use.
     
  20. Charles Hinshaw

    Charles Hinshaw

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,070
    Let's try to keep conversation here focused on 2.5. You can access the RenderTexture inherits from Texture and as dreamora said, it can be accessed by scripts just like other textures in Unity. If you have questions about how RenderTextures work, please post them to the support, scripting or shaders section (I guess it could really depend on the nature of what you are doing with a render texture as to which would be most appropriate).
     
  21. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    699
    Thanks, I posted a question on other forum but I didn't get answers, intested I found it here. sorta..

    I know C++ and C#, and I guessed RTT is used like normal textures in the editor. My question is that will UT expose API to get to the RTT surface handle or not though c++ plugin or other method.
    This is an important criteria whether I should buy pro or not.

    That's all.

    Thanks.
     
  22. Jademyr

    Jademyr

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Ok - so I just wanted to share this with you. (I'ts in swedish - but you'll get the picture) As you probably know, when you startup Chrome you get a overview of your "most visited pages". I my browser unity3d.com is in 4th place, just behind Google Reader (which I use ALL THE TIME) and two swedish newssites.

    Should I see a doctor about this? :?

    I just can't stop checking, just in case, just to be sure.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Yann

    Yann

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    432
    Oroa er inte, vi är alla i samma båt :D
     
  24. AngryAnt

    AngryAnt

    Keyboard Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3,045
    I'd think its quite natural :wink:
     
  25. nickavv

    nickavv

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,801
    That's pretty slick looking Ant. :) What is it?
     
  26. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,318
    Safari (v.4).

    --Eric
     
  27. jashan

    jashan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3,296
    Yeah man, you *should* see a doctor about not having unity3d.com on spot ONE!!!

    Now let's try a little hypnosis-affirmation therapy:

    I love Unity. I love Unity. I love Unity.
    Unity is the best. Unity is the best. Unity is the best.
    Unity is my number one. Unity is my number one. Unity is my number one.


    Can you feel it, huh? Feels good, doesn't it? No need for a doctor anymore - everything is just perfectly fine ;-)

    MUAHAHAHA... Unity FTW!!!
     
  28. Fishypants

    Fishypants

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    444
    Soooooo, i've decided that ill post this same question every 2 weeks. That's not obsessive is it? :D

    Anyways, any idea of how much longer it will be till I can empty my bank account into your guys' pockets? I needz teh Unity plz. Kthxbye.
     
  29. 1stAnd10

    1stAnd10

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    It has come to this. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  30. theinfomercial

    theinfomercial

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,000
    Lolcats now is it? This has gotten pretty nuts. :D
     
  31. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    That happens if people shift the development focus over to "what shall I do now ..." focus ^^
     
  32. Merries

    Merries

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    262
    I was surprised at the picture with the kitten, he looks so relaxed. Its very rare for them to spread out like that exposing their belly and neck. That is one comfy kitty waiting for Unity :)
     
  33. minevr

    minevr

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,017
    Only . Day! :arrow:
     
  34. ~LK~

    ~LK~

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    75



    Guess this is still on topic?? :wink:
     
  35. DisTrash

    DisTrash

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    166
    Hi !


    Just a question : If i begin to work with an indie version and after a moment i upgrade to pro version, all will be converted ? (functions and my works) I don't know.


    Water for example, will upgrade and become reflective or i need to do something to change ?

    I don't know if i'm really clear...




    :roll:



    Thanks a lot !!

    ;)
     
  36. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    First thing is that this isn't related to Unity 2.5 so if you want to continue asking about Unity in general then please post your questions in an appropriate location (Gossip for example). Second, no, things won't magically convert or change, you need to take steps to do that. If you want water to become reflective/refractive then you'll have to use an appropriate shader and that means making those changes yourself. To be clear, your project will open and run without any needed changes, it's just that you will need to make edits if you want to add new (Pro) functionality.
     
  37. Konidias

    Konidias

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    50
    and I hope you don't see that as a bad thing... not everyone buys pro to get reflective water. I know it would turn out to be more of a hassle if all of the pro features automatically enabled themselves in your game. then you'd have people needing to do things to stop Unity from changing their game... which is kind of annoying.

    It's much better the way it is. If you want those features enabled, just enable them in the pro version. Simple stuff. :)
     
  38. CogCode

    CogCode

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    143
    I will say now that I have a new little Mac Mini, I'm less concerned about the Windows version of the tools, although that WILL be quite nice.

    However, I AM really looking forward to the 2.5 features.


    But 2.1 is still pretty darned fantastic. I'm really liking this environment and engine.
     
  39. DisTrash

    DisTrash

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    166
    Thanks a lot HiggyB !! :wink: :wink:

    Sorry to had post in a bad place.


    Have a nice day !
    Regards.

    ++
    :wink:
     
  40. minevr

    minevr

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,017
    :x

    Countdown??!?!?! :wink:
     
  41. tintin

    tintin

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Posts:
    35
    What's that mean?
     
  42. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    I think he wants a countdown to launch timer. :)

    We're in the launch window (around GDC), the shuttle is on the launch pad, it's getting fueled up and you just have to hang in there for the actual "go with throttle up" event...

     
  43. minevr

    minevr

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,017
    我有很多小秘密,就不告诉你,就不告诉你..... :evil: :D

    Secret :!:

    What time? Night here. I go to bed. :p
     
  44. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    Rough translation:

    "I have very many small secrets, does not tell you, does not tell you."

    That's right, the release date will be known when we make it public, until then you'll have to do like I said above, hang in there.
     
  45. G3David

    G3David

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    goes off to make space shuttle sim, just for kicks +1
     
  46. etoiles

    etoiles

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Posts:
    216
    Hope the analogy ends there... the last shuttle launch was delayed :wink:
     
  47. Aras

    Aras

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    4,763
    Well, Unity 2.5 launch is already delayed (from some internal overly-optimistic launch date that never happened)!
     
  48. cwainman

    cwainman

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Well, now they have to add all the iPhone 3.0 stuff.
     
  49. ryanzec

    ryanzec

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Posts:
    680
    Well at least Untiy and Unity iPhone are separate products so that won't be the reason :)
     
  50. 1stAnd10

    1stAnd10

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    79
    I predict nothing happens until next week.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity