Search Unity

Question Units of measurement and position

Discussion in 'Physics' started by AlexGreenwood, Apr 10, 2023.

1. AlexGreenwood

AlexGreenwood

Hey people,
    I am quite new to Unity and have a very basic problem or question. Specifically, it's about the dimensions and position. The dimensions of an object are always relative. This is unfavorable when I want to adapt objects to each other. For example, I would like to be able to see an absolute value so that I can, for example, create a window pane directly to the frame. For example, if the frame is 4 x 4 meters, I can simply create an object with 4.1 x 4.1 meters and don't have to scale around. The same applies to the position, this is only identical if I reset the position beforehand, isn't it? Here, too, it would be nice if I knew on which outermost edge house A is located, so that I can place house B right next to it. How can I do that by only entering values?

Thank you!
    Best regards,
    Alex

2. AlexGreenwood

AlexGreenwood

Something else occurs to me. Especially with round objects, I can hardly get them round afterwards. For example, I only noticed later in one project that the object is not perfectly circular. I can't fix that with the relative values, I can only scale around wildly and hope that it's round. It would also be nice here if I can just type in 1 x 1 meter and it's perfectly round. Thanks!

3. Edy

Edy

Units in Unity are 1 unit = 1 meter.

While you could scale the objects based in your needs, all Unity subsystems assume this 1:1 scale. This is especially relevant with physics. For example, the inertia tensor of the physics bodies is calculated based in their dimensions.

4. AlexGreenwood

AlexGreenwood

Thanks, but how is it possible, that I've two objects nearly the same size, but completely different values on x, y and z? No matter wich object I put in the scene, it's even 1 x 1 x 1. So a barrel is 1 x 1 x 1 a complete house, too.

5. arkano22

arkano22