Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unite Now - Kinematica – Democratizing Motion Matching for Character Animation

Discussion in 'Animation Previews' started by AskCarol, Apr 28, 2020.

  1. diggerjohn

    diggerjohn

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    60
    Thank you @Grimreaper358 and @awesomedata
    I am just trying to use my Characters with Kinematica.
    I will gladly use another rig but it is critical I use my custom characters.
    My team wants to leverage the Kinematica system and motion database.
    As you see above the Kinematica team doesn't appear to have a clear path for getting custom characters to work with the system.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
    awesomedata likes this.
  2. EthanCS1993

    EthanCS1993

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Vairbale Binary.Tag.intervalIndex and Binary.Tag.numIntervals is always 0, because they are not assigned with a value during asset build process.
     
  3. nortangol

    nortangol

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello.
    I used a package of Kinematica, but I can't achieve the desired result. I made my own project based on the Biped Locomotion project. I retargeted your animation on my character and when I control a character, his movements (animation) are different from the control trajectory, dead zones are formed and the character does not go into an Idle state. I tried to change the metrics settings, but the results do not get better. What may be the reason why the control trajectories do not coincide with the animation trajectories?
     
  4. giraffe1

    giraffe1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    210
  5. cicciok19

    cicciok19

    Joined:
    May 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi there,
    I downloaded the demo for the 0.8 version of Kinematica (https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/Kinematica_Demo/releases) but when i open the scene i can't see nothing. I think the problem is that there aren't any mesh for the prefabs that are in the scene, as shown in the inspector. Anyone had the same problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. florianhanke

    florianhanke

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Posts:
    426
    Is there any information when 0.9 is coming out? 0.8 is getting a bit old in the tooth (still using NativeString etc.)
     
  7. consolelw

    consolelw

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I tried my own idle and run animation clips and model in snappy locomotion demo. But when I enter play mode and move the charactor, in the kinematica asset builder window, it only matches the idle segmant. I tried to find the difference between my clips and the demo's, the conclusion is my run clip does not contains root motion, which means the animation runs in the same point while animating. So there is no trajectory prediction in the preview mode.
    Is that the root motion necessary for the animation clips?
     
  8. kite3h

    kite3h

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Posts:
    128


    Sometimes this happens. I watched a video explaining how to prevent this, but I can't find it again.
     
  9. Stevie-Gamer

    Stevie-Gamer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1
  10. pbechard

    pbechard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Is there a way to use Kinematica to create variance in animations? With traditional state machines you might blend between a bag of animation clips in a randomized way.
     
  11. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5,788
    @FrancoisFournel Can we assume that Kinematica is just dead in the water? Since you guys haven't given any sign of life for a long time with this project?
    I am evaluating my options and I was able to bring the hello world into (a very fragile) life with some surgery (updating the code from the NativeString API), but it doesn't seem too feasible.
    What are the plans with this package? Do you work on it or abandoned like many other Unity projects over the years?
     
  12. beatdesign

    beatdesign

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Posts:
    101
    Please Unity staff answer to this. I'd like to invest days on Kinematica for machine learning related stuff, and it would be really helpful if someone can confirm that it isn't a dead project.
     
    ftejada and TerraUnity like this.
  13. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    961
    +1

    It was cool when it came out but now!
     
    beatdesign and ftejada like this.
  14. ftejada

    ftejada

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Posts:
    628
    Please gentlemen of Unity, we need information ...
    Greetings
     
    beatdesign likes this.
  15. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    4,834
     
  16. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5,788
    If we weren't playing with the new tech sooner, you would have twice as many bugs than you have now...
     
  17. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    4,834
    painful to imagine, so keep playing and I'll join in when I'm done.
     
  18. FrancoisFournel

    FrancoisFournel

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello Folks,

    I sincerely apologize for the delay, I should have replied sooner. As written in the Animation Status Update posted last December, following Unity roadmap for 2021, we shifted all our development effort on delivering a high-quality and well-integrated suite of animation technology. Therefore all development concerning Kinematica is temporarily suspended and will not resume before 2022

    The Kinematica package version 0.8 is still available for users to try and experiment, but it won't receive support before next year.
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  19. FrancoisFournel

    FrancoisFournel

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    You can achieve similar result from code, by randomizing the Tag for your Kinematica Query. In the samples we match Idle always with the same PoseSet (idleCandidates) :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Synthesizer.MatchPose(idleCandidates, Synthesizer.Time, MatchOptions.DontMatchIfCandidateIsPlaying | MatchOptions.LoopSegment, 0.01f)
    But you can have a preset of PoseSet of randomly select one you want when making a query.

    That's obviously not as convenient as in Mecanim, we probably can add easiest way to do it in the future
     
  20. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    5,788
    Well, I probably misinterpreted the "it will maintain all its current functionality" part. Thanks.
     
  21. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    4,834
    upload_2021-3-15_8-42-33.png
     
unityunity