Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

UniRPG Tile Ed

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Leslie-Young, Aug 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Graphicalgeek

    Graphicalgeek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Hey TileEd fans,

    Recently I've completed another TileEd compatible Top-down Environment Tileset Pack:

    Top-down-Cave-Tileset-TileEd-Banner.jpg


    Also available is the:

    Top-down-Scifi-Environment-Tileset-Pack-TileEd-Banner.jpg
     
    Ariegos likes this.
  2. stlouis4d

    stlouis4d

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    I read a user review (latest review from 2-weeks ago) on the product page of the Unity Asset Store that mentioned it had some issues that apparently worked in an older version of Unity. I know the product page says 4.6.3 and higher, but can you tell me if TileEd is fully compatible with Unity 5?

    A couple of reviews also mentioned that there isn't an Undo feature. Is this still correct or has this been added in a recent update?

    I also read in this forum that no more than 2 levels can be created in a scene. Is is possible to create prefabs of a number of individual single level maps (i.e. 5 or however many desired) created with TileEd and then construct a multilevel dungeon out of the prefabs by combining them all in the same scene?

    Are the levels created with TileEd fully modifiable in the Unity editor? Can individual elements or props be added to the structures built by TileEd? Can the wall and floor elements be moved, deleted, resized, or added to in the Unity editor?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015
  3. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    > but can you tell me if TileEd is fully compatible with Unity 5?
    Yes, it works in Unity 5. The issue mentioned in the review has to do with the preview image of a tile not being generated. I found this happens with the included sample prefabs and you simply have to right-click and reimport them to get them showing up. I'm not sure if this problems comes up again or not since I can't reliably reproduce it after doing the reimport.

    > A couple of reviews also mentioned that there isn't an Undo feature.
    No such feature, sorry.

    > I also read in this forum that no more than 2 levels can be created in a scene.
    It was created to editor single level actually. The 2nd level is just there to allow holes or water/ lava areas on the floor (appearing lower)

    > Are the levels created with TileEd fully modifiable in the Unity editor?
    Yes, the tiles and props are all placed as individual GameObject under a parent GameObject. If you edit them manually it could mess up what Tile Ed knows about the structure though. For example if the auto-tile system placed some walls around a floor and you decide to move them somewhere else and then paint another auto-tile next to the previous' position then it could remove some of the walls (since they should not be there - you are making a hallway now). Depending on what you did with the previous placed tiles it could look wrong now.
     
  4. stlouis4d

    stlouis4d

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Thank you for the quick reply ... that clears up what I needed to know.
     
  5. fairtree

    fairtree

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    Hi Leslie,

    I am using your tool and I am very satisfied, it will not only save me hundreds of hours but is pretty fun to use.

    Only one thing I could wonder would be the possibility to define more than one object for a tile, and when I use this tile it places the first object, then the second, then the first (if I had two objects), etc...

    Same possibility with the auto tile.

    It allows to auto place two or more different walls or columns automatically.

    And then you have the ultimate tool ;)

    I understand it must not be easy to do, and as I said I am already very satisfied with your tool, but if you want to improve it, it would be a great way.

    Take care, and thanks to make great and professional assets.
     
  6. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    I do not have plans to add any new features. I do hope to get work started on a version 2 as soon as I get some time open then these suggestions will come in handy.
     
    nuverian likes this.
  7. stlouis4d

    stlouis4d

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Oh my goodness ... Tile Ed is amazing. Bought it. Tried it out. And realized how much time I've been wasting without it. It's simple. Download it. Install it. Follow the simple directions (they're in both print and video). And you're done. Simply amazing.

    I've got to say that it's got to be one of the biggest time (and sanity) saving tools for Unity. If you're working with Bitgem environments, you've absolutely got to have this tool. No questions asked. Just buy it.

    No more struggling to manually align every single tile and mesh. With Tile Ed, you're literally painting with your environment right into your scene. It's as simple as that.

    I literally reconstructed (without any errors or issues) an entire Bitgem Fantasy Environment in less than 15 minutes (including all of the setup time) that had previously taken me an entire day (and that had previously included too many misalignments that I couldn't seem to make go away before). Completely unbelievable. But true.

    Thank you Leslie, I'm truly impressed.
     
  8. sefou

    sefou

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    hi stloui4d,
    can you explain how using Bitgem Fantaisy Environment with TileEd.
    Many thanks.
     
  9. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    Thanks for the review stlouis4d.

    sefou, have a look at the videos and documentation. They explain how to set up tiles to be painted.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  10. stlouis4d

    stlouis4d

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    @ sefou Just as Leslie mentioned above. Follow the simple directions, but put in the tiles from the Bitgem Fantasy Environment package if you're making a terrain or the Bitgem Modular Dungeon package if you're making a dungeon. It really is that simple, as the video walks you through it step-by-step.
     
  11. stlouis4d

    stlouis4d

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    The only thing that I might add to my review would be the lack of an "undo" feature. The ability to "undo" (even if it is was just one step back) would save us all a lot of grief. As it is, I'm saving very often, but one slip up (literally just a single click in the wrong area) and any and all work since your last save is lost if you have to reload your last save to correct the error. Some areas in my terrain I'm able to restructure by going back down a level and rebuilding, but it's never exactly the same as you originally had it and in some areas it isn't possible to rebuild if you have multiple levels or are close to an edge of your map.

    Other than that, I've not found any fault with it.
     
  12. Rick-

    Rick-

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    78
    Hello,
    I'm looking for a tile tool for creating a terrain something like this:



    Can i achieve this kind of terrain with Tile Ed?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  13. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    No, that is not supported.
     
  14. Rick-

    Rick-

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    78
    The terrain in the screenshot was made with TileWorldCreator($60) with just 5 tiles,and i'm wondering if i make a complete tileset compatible with your tool i can achieve this kind of look,its basically like the cubic terrain in your video.
    It would be great if you could provide a example of how something like this can be made.
    Or if it can't,you could give a short explanation why.

    Also,i'm looking for this terrain style too:

     
  15. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    Have a look at the videos and documentation to see what is required from Terrain Tiles before they will "work" with Tile Ed.

    This last screenshot looks like something that will work and your 1st one might too but I will not say yes and then it does not work. You need to look at what the tool requires (reasonI give link to docs) and judge for yourself if your art will work with it.
     
    Rick- likes this.
  16. Rick-

    Rick-

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Posts:
    78
    Ok,thx a lot.
    As far as i can see,i think it will work if i make a complete tileset for achieving something like the 1st screenshot.
    I'll probably purchase Tile Ed and see what i can do with it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
  17. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Hello Leslie,

    can you tell me where the code is for the shortcut key Rotate? it's currently set to ctrl +arrows but I would like to change it.

    Also one of the main reasons I purchased your asset was because in your video you showed the
    plops object being snap placed onto another object (as long as they both have colliders) however it's not snapping clean on there. it kind of floats on top until you click, but it doesn't line up flush.
    This is important if I want to build walls upwards. what can be done here?

    Can you make so it can snap to vertex edge?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  18. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    > can you tell me where the code is for the shortcut key Rotate

    MapInspectorBase.cs:1130

    > however it's not snapping clean on there

    Make sure the collider is the correct size and that the plop's pivot is at the right location.

    > Can you make so it can snap to vertex edge?

    No. The tool is feature complete.
     
  19. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Assets/UniRPG TileEd/Runtime/Properties/AssemblyInfo.cs(8,12): error CS0579: The attribute `System.Reflection.AssemblyTitleAttribute' cannot be applied multiple times

    what do I have to do to fix this. This is after importing source code.
     
  20. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    I think it would of been helpful if you gave us the option to assign shortcut keys. don't you think? then we wouldn't have to mess around with trying to get your source code to work.

    So by the looks of it you're not adding else to this package... hmm
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2015
  21. kazumasa0421

    kazumasa0421

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Hi. Thanks for creating great asset.

    Now I have some issues.
    Please tell me this coping method.

    1) Thumbnails do not displayed in editor.
    I checked SamplePrefabDB included in this asset.
    (Capture of Editor screen is attached)
    How can I display these?
    2) I can not clear Plops already set.
    I select [Map (component) > Plops > Clear] and Click Plop in Scene,
    but plop I touched is not removed.
    Would you tell me the correct way to remove plops?

    Conditions:
    unity 5.1.2f1
    mac book air

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    >> what do I have to do to fix this. This is after importing source code.

    TileEd is distributed as DLLs. You should not extract and import the source code into your project. The source is provided for advanced users who wish to extend on it or tweak something and then compile new DLLs to replace the existing ones.

    > So by the looks of it you're not adding else to this package

    Yes. It has been feature complete for more than a year now. Meaning no new features will be added.

    > Thumbnails do not displayed in editor

    The sample tiles has a known problem. Select and right click them and choose Reimport. That should fix the problem.

    > I can not clear Plops already set

    The Plop placement tool is simply there to make aligned placement of non-tile objects easier. It does not work like the tile editing part where tiles are added and removed by the tile editor. You can delete a plop in the same way you delete any other GameObject - just be sure to unselect the Map or toggle the tile editor's edit mode off so that you regain normal Unity scene editing.
     
  23. kazumasa0421

    kazumasa0421

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Thank you for your reply.
    The way you said works well!
     
  24. kazumasa0421

    kazumasa0421

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Is it true that this asset is deprecated?
    I have just bought this yesterday....
     
  25. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    Yes, but you can still download it from your account downloads section if you own it.
     
  26. TechiTech

    TechiTech

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Posts:
    212
    Can I have a refund please. Not happy with this tool. Too many bugs
     
  27. kazumasa0421

    kazumasa0421

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Okey.
    Would you tell me if you have a plan to create Tile Ed2 now?
     
  28. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    Can you please specify which bugs you are referring to so that I may fix them? Simply saying, "too many bugs" is not useful at all. TileEd 1 is over 2 years old and all the known bugs has been taken care of. The only problem that exist is with the sample tiles' preview images which can easily be fixed by right-click and re-import.

    You can send me a PM with your invoice number.
     
  29. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    There are plans for TileEd 2 but no time-line or any other info available at this time.
     
  30. kazumasa0421

    kazumasa0421

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Thank you for your reply.
    I'm glad to hear that!
     
  31. DigitalIPete2

    DigitalIPete2

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Very sad to see this deprecated. In the middle of a project I upgraded to Unity 5 for a variety of reasons, I was using Tile Ed as the map editor for the whole project. :(

    Now I am left with no easy way forwards... very annoying and without a word from the author until I found out from the Asset Store - this is quite poor customer relations I'm afraid.
     
  32. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    TileEd supports Unity 5. You can still download it from your Asset Store Downloads section, https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/account/downloads/group/Packages
     
  33. Aurigan

    Aurigan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Posts:
    212
    Could you please let us know *why* this was removed from the Unity Store?
     
  34. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
  35. Brity

    Brity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Posts:
    116
    Hello Leslie,

    I'm having issues with importing this asset.

    Msg popup

    Copying file failed
    Copying Temp/Export
    Package/blablablablablabla/Asset
    to Assets/plyLib/runtime/plyLib.dll: The system cannot find the file specified.

    Console Error
    Package does not contain valid asset for: Assets/plyoung/plyLib/runtime/plyLib.dll

    Tested in fresh project
    Unity versions. 5.3.2, 5.3.3f, 5.3.3p1
     
  36. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    This asset has been deprecated and no longer being updated.
    I doubt it will work in Unity 5.3 since few things have been changing between 5.0 and 5.3.
     
  37. Brity

    Brity

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Posts:
    116
    but I just purchased it today.

    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/49094

    Version: 1.0.6 (Feb 11, 2016) Size: 212.6 kB
    Originally released: 31 October 2015
    Package has been submitted using Unity 5.3.2.
     
  38. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
    This thread is about the old "UniRPG TileEd". That is why I got confused about your message.

    I'll do a quick test importing from the asset store but have never seen that error message before.

    [edit] Tested and getting no import errors in clean project. Used 5.3.2 to test. I suggest you look at this thread on how to clean up the assets cache for plyoung and try downloading again just in case your package got corrupt somehow. http://forum.plyoung.com/t/when-reporting-errors/122/3
     
  39. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,046
  40. hike1

    hike1

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    401
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.