Search Unity

UniLOD BETA: Level-of-detail and streaming support [UPDATE]

Discussion in 'Made With Unity' started by BearishSun, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. BearishSun

    BearishSun

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    175
    If you download CUDA off nVidias site it comes with a bunch of helpful .pdfs for getting started. Then you can create a native .dll and use it as a Unity plugin as you would any other plugin.

    Once I'm done with the project I might post the code, but right now I can't sorry.
     
  2. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    You can use CUDA using any DLL / Bundle you want, the only requirement is that you make it a plugin and that it runs independent of unity in an own thread, offering the information upon request as function return for example. The same as you can use any other plugin.

    Just to be sure: I'm talking about real plugins here so a native dll, not some .NET code, so you need Unity Pro and you must target standalone windows / osx targeting
     
  3. rockysam888

    rockysam888

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    650
    (bookmarked)
     
  4. crafTDev

    crafTDev

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,820
    Hmm, why isnt this on the Asset Store?
     
  5. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    It never exited beta unhappily and I'm still not sure it fully works with U3 as it was for Unity 2.x
     
  6. sn4k3

    sn4k3

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Posts:
    36
    For those having this problem, recompiling the .dll file will fix it like BearishSun said. Just did it

    Thank you for this awsome tool :D
     
  7. Anthony85

    Anthony85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    30
    This looks like an interesting tool, i'll be sure to try it out as soon as i can (I just downloaded and installed the indie version), can't test it now, since it's 5 am and i gotta get to bed
     
  8. darkben

    darkben

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    405
    how much of this works with a mac and not with unity pro? just checking.
     
  9. teamwhitesnow

    teamwhitesnow

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    85
    Does unilod work with unity 3? someone on another thread said that it didn't
     
  10. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    There are some problems as far as I saw on a test.

    @darkben: generating the lod levels is windows only (relies on D3DX progressive meshes I think) and without unity pro you can naturally not use asset bundle streaming and async loading, only resource instantiation
     
  11. teamwhitesnow

    teamwhitesnow

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Posts:
    85
    ok thanks and in theory this tool is supposed to keep a game from being slow and/or keep a good frame rate?
     
  12. wkmccoy

    wkmccoy

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Posts:
    29
    I am working in E-learning and we use super HI-RES models, so this is exactly what I have been looking for in creating a course that needs the Hi-res when your standing right in front of it, but after a few feet away you can start to go down in detail. Unity is pretty amazing as it is, but this should really help to keep the frame rates above 25-30. When I say Hi-res, I mean millions of verts! I will let you know how it works for me.
     
  13. Deoxyz

    Deoxyz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Hi,

    Is there a way to simplify a Unity mesh instead of giving a gameobject wich is your obj/fbx/...?
    Before I knew Unilod, I wrote my own script to combine meshes into a unity mesh.
    Now I want to simplify the mesh with your script, but Unilod doesn't accept it.(because it is not a gameobject)

    Console:
    Do you or does someone else know how I can do this with a Unity mesh?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  14. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    Its possible yes to simplify a mesh but good algorithms are rare and patented. UniLOD does not offer any such capability on its own at all, it uses the D3DX Progressive Mesh capability to let DirectX do it, thats why its not present on osx as OpenGL is lacking on that end.
     
  15. Deoxyz

    Deoxyz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    Ok, thanks for the info.

    I managed to get it working with a given mesh instead of a gameobject. I downloaded the source code and changed some things.
    The only problem now are UV2's :s
    If I apply my Low or Medium mesh to the object, then the lightmaps are messed up. This is because the UV2 coordinates are wrong.

    When I look into 'MeshSimplify.cs' I see that he uses [DllImport("DXMeshCombine")]. I added some UV2 calculations almost like the UV calculations, but I don't know how I use it with the 'DXMeshCombine' stuff. Does someone maybe know how I can add this in the C++ solution? And how can I make a DLL of it again?
     
  16. DamianSpawn

    DamianSpawn

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Very interesting, will definitely take a look at this, thanks!
    One question, are the LOD levels of one object loaded all at once, or separately when needed ?
     
  17. heisemoshengren

    heisemoshengren

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    Tranks! You are great!
     
  18. duke

    duke

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    763
    Making LOD's is a whole artform on it's own. Just keep in mind that each LOD should be half the polys of the last. Games with decent view distances (Crytek games, BF series) have about 6 LOD's - at some point, many of them switch to a baked texture sheet.

    Trying to come up with an automated solution to this will just lead to cries that it doesn't work.
     
  19. limdingwen

    limdingwen

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Posts:
    25
    It messed up my dlls.... uninstalled.
     
  20. cummings9306

    cummings9306

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    8
    My problem is not efficiency in texturing, but interior lighting. Here is a link to a project that I just did. If you can, walk inside the building through the front doors. Because there are a lot of lights, the web quality is greatly diminished. Is there a possibility that your asset package could improve this problem I'm having?

    Here's the link:
    http://www.acsflash.cummingsdevelopment.com/Unity/WebPlayer/WebPlayer.html
     
  21. kmgilbert100

    kmgilbert100

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Posts:
    255
    bump is there anything better now or is this top notch
     
  22. brilliantgames

    brilliantgames

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Posts:
    1,937
  23. ilkeryuksel

    ilkeryuksel

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Is there any update?
    3.5 fixed?
    Thanks.
     
  24. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    The project was never updated to Unity 3.0 at all to my knowledge
     
  25. ilkeryuksel

    ilkeryuksel

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    3.5.0f5
    prefab creator ERROR:

    Please help me!?
     

    Attached Files:

  26. Dreamora

    Dreamora

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Posts:
    26,601
    that means you must go to the texture in the project tab, change it to type advanced and enable the get / set pixels checkbox. otherwise its not readable
     
  27. ilkeryuksel

    ilkeryuksel

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Thank you for all dreamora :)
     
  28. bb0x

    bb0x

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Posts:
    70
    This is pretty sweet, though for some reason whenenver I generate LoD's with this tool the normal map on the generated meshes seem to be inverted.

    I havent figured out a way to open the meshes that are generated with the LoD simplification tool as they save out as .asset files. Not being able to open them I was not able to determine the exact problem.

    Some help, or a possible fix would be appreciated. =]

    Thanks for the awesome free tool btw!
     
  29. warkarma

    warkarma

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    The generator is even more broken with 3.5.2f :( It really needs an update.
     
  30. TechnicalArtist

    TechnicalArtist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    736