Search Unity

Question Unhandled Exception: System.InvalidOperationException: Can't find file \\.\pipe\unity-ilpp

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by billg1955, Feb 2, 2023.

  1. billg1955

    billg1955

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    trying to create a 3D URP project and I get this error.

    Unhandled Exception: System.InvalidOperationException: Can't find file \\.\pipe\unity-ilpp-6acb8486a5f673b065859650217279da
    at Unity.ILPP.Trigger.TriggerApp.WaitForFileExists(String, TimeSpan) + 0x166
    at Unity.ILPP.Trigger.TriggerApp.CreateClient(Arguments) + 0x23
    at Unity.ILPP.Trigger.TriggerApp.<ProcessArgumentsAsync>d__1.MoveNext() + 0x706
    --- End of stack trace from previous location ---
    at System.Runtime.ExceptionServices.ExceptionDispatchInfo.Throw() + 0x20
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task) + 0xb6
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task) + 0x42
    at Unity.ILPP.Trigger.TriggerApp.<RunAsync>d__0.MoveNext() + 0xc7
    --- End of stack trace from previous location ---
    at System.Runtime.ExceptionServices.ExceptionDispatchInfo.Throw() + 0x20
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task) + 0xb6
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task) + 0x42
    at Program.<<Main>$>d__0.MoveNext() + 0x1a3
    ---
     
  2. billg1955

    billg1955

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    I just tried creating the same project with the 2021 LTS and it is fine. so it is something in the 2022 builds that is causing the issue.
     
  3. XDaDev

    XDaDev

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    I'm also facing the same problem. Reimporting the "Core RP Library" fixes it for some reason. Maybe it's got something to do with the package?
     
  4. Zero_Xue

    Zero_Xue

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    126
    Same issue, tried re-importing but no luck
     
  5. Jinja

    Jinja

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Posts:
    10
    I had this problem when opening a previously created 3D URP project that was working fine. Unity suggested going into safe mode, which I did. I then updated an unrelated package (Timeline) and that got the project compiling again. Random glitch? Perhaps anything that causes a rebuild will fix it?
     
  6. Andrei2470

    Andrei2470

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    This solved the problem for me. Thanks a lot!
     
    uitayok likes this.
  7. uitayok

    uitayok

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    This also solved the problem for me. Thank you ^__^
     
  8. CarmensGaming

    CarmensGaming

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    This saved my project. Thank you
     
  9. DavidMiranda

    DavidMiranda

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Posts:
    617
    Had the same problem. Solved it by deleting Timeline in Safe Mode and installing again.
     
  10. unity_08E98932B8F83870B6B1

    unity_08E98932B8F83870B6B1

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    How to solve this error if it doesn't work for me by uninstalling and reinstalling Timeline in safe mode
     
  11. nathan2019spence

    nathan2019spence

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2022
    Posts:
    19
    I wrote a new script, and it fixed the problem. It seems like it probably gets stuck, and you either have to install an asset or create a script, and it will fix itself.
     
  12. hgameplay

    hgameplay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you so much for the tip and creating a new script, save, then build! It worked!
     
  13. ezr1d3r

    ezr1d3r

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    You my friend have saved me. Ty.
     
  14. Geckoo

    Geckoo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Posts:
    144
    For those who got this bug, you have to erase/reinstall the Timeline package - and if it does not work (like for me), erase/reinstall the Universal RP package. Thanks for your help ++
     
  15. Wekthor

    Wekthor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    165
    None of these worked for me unfortunately.
     
  16. Niels-Wosylus

    Niels-Wosylus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    None of these work for me
    Unity 2022.3.12f1, URP 14.0.9
     
  17. rishikeshraotole305

    rishikeshraotole305

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    To solve this problem, Follow these steps, worked for me

    Go to package manager > remove Universal RP > ReInstall Universal RP > and then Asset > Reimport all > clear Console > Build apk
    try this.
     
  18. rishikeshraotole305

    rishikeshraotole305

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2021
    Posts:
    7
    New
    To solve this problem, Follow these steps, worked for me

    Go to package manager > remove Universal RP > ReInstall Universal RP > and then Asset > Reimport all > clear Console > Build apk

    Please sir, try this
     
  19. Olric0

    Olric0

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    All of a sudden I got this problem, I didn't do anything to the project, I closed and opened Unity and I got this problem, I deleted and installed Timeline many times. Universal RP is not in my project anyway, I also opened a new project and I get this problem in the new empty Unity project. The version I am using is Unity 2022.3.10 can anyone help
     
  20. Haapavuo

    Haapavuo

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Posts:
    97
    Same issue here! Unity fix your bugs asap!!!
     
  21. GintarasOE

    GintarasOE

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Experiencing the same issue, reimporting updating timeline just gets stuck at "ScriptCompilation ILPP-Configuration ilpp-configuration".
    Issue appeared out of nowhere. Tried deleting the whole project and pulling from git again - still the same issue even though at that point all packages were reinstalled.

    I removed all the cache from `AppData/Local/Unity/Editor` and installed the newest version of 2022.3 LTS (at the time of writing it's 2022.3.16f1).
    After that the project loading gets stuck at "Open Project: Initial Asset Database Refresh".
    The following error is logged in the Editor.log file:
     
  22. The-Wild-Fox

    The-Wild-Fox

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Okay seems like copy pasting Library folders to reduce time compiling is not the best thing to do lol, deleting fixed the issue for anyone who gets the thing above in some way or another.
    Also I was running low on space, so maybe that was the cause.
    Anyway it's all good now.

    For anyone who gets this, I would recommend
    1. Delete library folder
    2. Delete AppData/Local/Unity/Cache
    3. Delete AppData/Roaming/Unity/Cache
    4. Delete AppData/LocalLow/Unity/Cache
    5. Reinstall Unity version (delete + reinstall)
    6. Make sure you have enough space on disk (more than 20% so that Windows is not showing the disk in Red)
    7. Pray to the silicon god
    8. Clean solution files in your project folder
    9. ???