Search Unity

Unexpected Constructor behavior

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by CallMeSpam, Feb 10, 2018.

1. CallMeSpam

CallMeSpam

I am new to Unity and while playing around with the Unity (2017.3) I noticed an anomaly and was wondering if someone could explain it to me. In the example below, attached to a simple cube in a new project, there are two classes: DataHolder and ADataHolder that are identical. However, DataHolder's constructor is called at declaration and ADataHolder's constructor is called in Awake(). I would expect more or less the same result from each.

the console shows that DataHolder's constructor is called twice, then ADataHolder's constructor is called once, and when I stop the game, DataHolder's constructor is called a third time. Why is DataHolder being called multiple times?

Code (CSharp):
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    6. public class DemoProblem : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     DataHolder someDataHolder = new DataHolder();   // Initilaization called twice...
    9.     ADataHolder anotherDataHolder = null;
    11.     void Awake ()
    12.     {
    13.         anotherDataHolder = new ADataHolder();  //Initialization called once as expected
    14.    }
    15. }
    17. public class DataHolder
    18. {
    19.     private static int i = 0;   //count How many times initialization happens....
    20.     public DataHolder()
    21.     {
    22.         i++;
    23.         Debug.Log("DataHolder initialization called "+i+(i==1 ? " time. ": " times. "+"\n"));
    24.     }
    25. }
    27. public class ADataHolder
    28. {
    29.     private static int i = 0;   //count How many times initialization happens....
    30.     public ADataHolder()
    31.     {
    32.         i++;
    33.         Debug.Log("ADataHolder initialization called " + i + (i == 1 ? " time." : " times. " + "\n"));
    34.     }
    35. }

Console output is: