Search Unity

Unexpected and Inefficient ComputeBuffer behavior in OpenGL

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by ResolveRyan, Jan 25, 2022.

1. ResolveRyan

ResolveRyan

Hello folks!

My team is encountering some unexpected behavior when utilizing Compute Buffers specifically when using OpenGL. This behavior works as expected when building for DirectX.

Here is the specific issue as I understand it (I'm a Unity Engineer, this was discovered by our Graphics Engineer). For some context, this is being used while rendering a large amount of mesh data using a ComputeBuffer and DrawProcedural.

• We are using a single 256MB Buffer to store our mesh data, split into 64kb chunks (pages).
    • Each frame we may write new data to some number of these pages in the buffer. This is currently done using the ComputeBuffer.SetData() function.
    • We are using the mesh data for two purposes each frame:
      • 1. As an input to a compute shader to perform culling
      • 2. As an input to a vertex shader to actually render the mesh data.
    • On D3D11, this is working fine.
    • On OpenGL, the rendering doesn't work as expected.
    • In RenderDoc with OpenGL, we observe the following:
      • In our code, we only create one buffer to store mesh data, but in RenderDoc, it looks like a different buffer object can be used in different frames. This seems to suggest that Unity is creating multiple buffer objects.
      • We noticed a glUnmapBuffer() function call. The mapped range appears to be the entire length of the buffer i.e. 256 MB. There's nothing in our code where we try to write data to the entire range of the buffer all at once, so we're not entirely sure what Unity is trying to do here.
      • After unmapping the buffer, the buffer appears to contain all zeros i.e. no valid data.