Search Unity

UNET transition - advice needed

Discussion in 'UNet' started by killiantheelder, Jul 13, 2019.

1. killiantheelder

killiantheelder

My team and I have been building a peer to peer game. Originally we used unet - though it was fairly difficult to get set up as I am a noob at networking. Now that we've been developing a while and improving/refactoring our code base, we are running into latency and syncing issues.

Seeing that unet will be deprecated and removed by 2021 - we would like to utilize a small library to keep our tiny game moving as we scale.

We have looked at mirror and photon as potential alternatives. Does anyone have any advice for we noobs? Much appreciated.

2. mischa2k

mischa2k

I hear good things about Mirror

Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. MCoburn

MCoburn

Glad to hear you're making progress in networking!

Correct, Unity's HLAPI will be dead by then. And I must clarify that this is old UNET, not related to the new networking stack Unity Tech is working on.

It really depends on your game. If you are not wanting server authoritative (ie. you tell the server to do things and the server then does things, sending you back the results) networking which Mirror excels at, then Photon is probably the way to go.

Photon does have a peer to peer-based solution, so you'll have to implement things to avoid data tampering etc. However, it does have a 20 CCU limit for the free tier before you have to pay a monthly subscription fee, while Mirror does not really have such limit - all it needs is a $5 per month VPS (virtual private server) and it'll run fine. Heck, I run a few in-house test VPSes on the Vultr $5 plan and Mirror runs cosy on them.

Mirror has also the benefit of a UNET Converter that does a solid job at converting old UNET projects into the Mirror equivalents, and if you'd like more info on Mirror, drop by the discord - we're a friendly bunch.