Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

UNet Multiplayer Help - Calling Functions with Commands not Working

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Mattrhorn, Oct 23, 2018.

1. Mattrhorn

Mattrhorn

Hey, Im pretty new to Unity (and this is my first post here) but after searching everyone on the internet for a solution I have come up with nothing. (Apologies if this is in the wrong forum section)

Little Background Information: I am trying to develop a Multiplayer Board Game (turn based) that is managed through multiple path objects. The Path Objects are predefined in the game hierarchy and when a player loads, the player object has a script attached which gets the Path Component from each of those Path Game Objects. The Path objects are successful at grabbing them (I check to see whether they return null or not) But when I change a value on that path from a Client, a get a return error (See Figure 1 below)

upload_2018-10-22_22-26-18.png
    (Figure 1)

From what Ive read on the Internet, when a Client Calls a Cmd Function it is ran as if it was done by the server. I have placed the code below for reference. The Code Below occurs when a button is pressed, which calls the "CallRPCFunction" (I know its not actually calling an RPC Function it was just a previous name when it was that I didnt change)

Code (CSharp):
    1. [Command] public void CmdTestFunction(int i, int j, bool n){
    2.         Debug.Log("SetGenerator Called");
    3.         paths[i,j].hasGen = n;
    4.     }
    7.     public void CallRPCFunction(){
    8.         CmdTestFunction(1,1,false);
    9.     }