Search Unity

  1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unet Matchmaking Europe-North America | cannot see rooms

Discussion in 'UNet' started by Ferdi_the_wise, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. Ferdi_the_wise

    Ferdi_the_wise

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    Currently me and someone from the USA are working on a co-op game together and we cannot connect to eachother. We cannot even see the rooms we create.

    While I can see and join rooms created by other people located in Europe, I cannot see rooms that are created by people located in NA.

    We are using the Networkmanager(.matchmaker) and apart from that the multiplayer matchmaking service @http://multiplayer.unity3d.com/

    Does anyone know what might be causing the issue?
     
  2. JeremyUnity

    JeremyUnity

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    147
    Hi!

    We have 3 data centers right now, with plans for more going forward. When you use the default URL, you'll connect to the most local data center to you geographically. This is to minimize latency in multiplayer games.

    In this case you're connecting to EU and your coworker is connecting to US. Data centers are siloed from each other with respect to match enumeration, so you wouldnt see each other's games.

    You can force a connection however directly to the data center of your choice. Here's the list of current URLs to do so:

    EU: eu1-mm.unet.unity3d.com
    US: us1-mm.unet.unity3d.com
    AP: ap1-mm.unet.unity3d.com
     
    AbhinayNegi and GibTreaty like this.
  3. Andriod

    Andriod

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Since every question about this leads to this post: Do this with

    NetworkManager networkManager = FindObjectOfType<NetworkManager>();
    networkManager.SetMatchHost("eu1-mm.unet.unity3d.com", networkManager.matchPort, true);

    or similar
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2016
    Azar1383, jdchavez and liuyang61 like this.
  4. Somaweb

    Somaweb

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Does this also affect the relay server connection?
     
  5. thegreatzebadiah

    thegreatzebadiah

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    836
    Is there any way to detect which data center / region the client is connecting to?
     
    GKiernozek likes this.
  6. Somaweb

    Somaweb

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    I haven't figured out so far, what I do is ping the different data centers and force the client to connect to the one with the lowest avg ping.
     
  7. MallNinjaMax

    MallNinjaMax

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Is there any possibility of getting this added to the documentation? I just spent the last four days, pulling my hair out over this issue. I only just found this thread in a search after reading Photon's documentation, which casually mentions this right away, in their basic tutorial.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
    SudoSandwich and booferei like this.
  8. GKiernozek

    GKiernozek

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38
    Is there any way to detect which data center / region the client is connecting to?
     
  9. thegreatzebadiah

    thegreatzebadiah

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts:
    836
  10. SudoSandwich

    SudoSandwich

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1
  11. unity_bfvNwgs4mDhzgw

    unity_bfvNwgs4mDhzgw

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    using System.collections;
    using System.collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;
    using UnityEngine.Networking;

    public class Rooms : MonoBehaviour
    {


    void Start()
    {

    NetworkManager networkManager = FindObjectOfType<NetworkManager>();
    networkManager.SetMatchHost("eu1-mm.unet.unity3d.com", networkManager.matchPort, true);

    }


    }