Search Unity

UNet/Forge/Bolt/uLink...so confusing. Another "What's for me?" post.

Discussion in 'UNet' started by Palimon, Aug 19, 2015.

1. Palimon

Palimon

I am building a pvp space combat flight simulator where players can cooperatively act as pilots or crew on single and multi-crew ships in mission-based space battle arenas.

I've spent a few days researching the various networking solutions available, compare-contrasting what I'm able to find about each one, and marking off those I know won't work for me. Primary requirements:
    • Easy to use. I'm not new to software engineering, but I am brand new to networking games and mine doesn't follow a typical model where I can easily copy others' work (like an fps).
    • Authoritative server. Even ignoring cheating, this is the only way forward that I can see for allowing anyone to control anything, such as swapping pilots mid-game.
    • Supports 10-30 users in a single arena.
    UNet originally captured me as the best solution. It's free, it's built-in and supported by Unity, and appeared to have a large community. It's as flexible as I need it to be. But after spending two weeks struggling to network my game, I'm having significant doubts. So far I've only been able to network the player avatars and most of the ship movement and control. I've had marginal success getting help from the community. I'm finally jumping into game dev after losing my previous job and deciding to see this as an exciting opportunity...which means I'm not excited about paying $150/hr for Unity Premium support. If it was more reasonable like $60, sure, but it's not. So I'm looking into other options.

Forge and Bolt both nail my required list, and appear to have largely identical feature-sets as far as my game is concerned. The current differentiators that I can see is that:
    • Forge currently has much more responsive support.