Search Unity

Understanding Normalization

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by chrisk, May 5, 2021.

1. chrisk

chrisk

Hi, I just discovered ML-Agent and I'm having quite a lot of fun using it!
    I have some background working with NN and it wasn't really easy to deal with it until now. Many thanks for making a wonderful toy. ^^

I'm pretty sure there will be lots more questions but right now I'm a bit puzzled about normalization.

Generally, normalizations help to get rid of noises thus help NN to solve faster but in my case, it actually takes longer. I ran two different sessions exactly the same with just normalized/unnormalized Observations and ML Agent takes longer to go to the target location.

I guess I'm just trying to understand what's going on.

For example, my Positions are between [-20,20] and I normalize them to [-1, 1] before feeding them to Observations. Positions are evenly spread.
    There is a configuration option in network_settings->normalize. I tried to set it both true and false and it doesn't seem to make much difference.

My questions are.

1. Why normalizing Positions for the Observation will take longer to converge? Is it ok not to normalize them if it take faster to converge?

2. If input Positions are not normalized, how does it affect the output? i.e., outputs come out not normalized until it converges eventually. Well, right now ML-Agent doesn't seem to provide fine-grain controls(sigmoid and such) on inputs/outputs and it will help understand what's going on.

3. What does the normalize configuration option do? How do I properly use it? Do I need to set it to true/false when Observations inputs are normalized or not? Or is it an option to let the ML engine do the normalization internally? It wasn't clear in the doc.

4. Normalize options can appear in two different places. network_settings->normalize, and reward_signals->extrinsic->network_settings->normalize. If they don't match, what happens? Is it like an override option?