Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unable to view all packages in Package Manager.

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by mutnuar, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. mutnuar

    mutnuar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    For some reason, the Package Manager window doesn't list all the available packages. I've had this issue for the past few weeks.

    I initially attributed it to an issue with the Update Server (was getting a message saying "Couldn't connect to the update server" on checking for updates), but it persists even when the connection is proper.

    I'm currently on Unity 2018.2.0f2 on MacOS High Sierra. This issue was present for me in 2018.1.4 and 2018.1.6 as well.

    I'm attaching a screenshot of the listed packages currently under All. Note that packages like AR Foundation are missing.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 11.35.30 AM.png

    Edit: The issue persists even after a clean install of Unity (deleting cache, etc)
     
  2. MrDude

    MrDude

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2,569
    I will add to this question by expanding on that list of missing packages... I have nearly 500 packages that I downloaded from the Asset Store and if this is supposed to list "All packages" then why am I not seeing my 500 packages but only a handful?

    Looking at that list form the screenshot, now that TextMeshPro gives me loads of "This class already exists" errors when I install it directly via the asset store I am assuming TextMeshPro now HAS to be installed via this and can, for all sense and purposes be removed from the Asset Store now... but looking at that list, nothing from the Asset Store is actually listed there so if this package manager doesn't support Asset Store packages then what exactly constitutes "All packages" ?
     
  3. mutnuar

    mutnuar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Posts:
    3

    Hi,

    For comparison, I'm attaching another screenshot showing the full list which normally is displayed. This is taken from another system running Unity 2018.2 on MacOS High Sierra. The same list appears in the others as well, except mine.

    Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 12.19.59 PM.png
     
  4. WereVarg

    WereVarg

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Stupid question - but where is the package manager on MacOS? Cannot locate it yet. 2018.2
     
    arvasigaran likes this.
  5. mutnuar

    mutnuar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    @WereVarg You can access it from Window->Package Manager
     
  6. kapopixel

    kapopixel

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Hello, I have a similar problem. I have missing packages as well, including 2D Pixel Perfect, which I need to use. (I have 2D Animation; 2D IK; 2D Sprite Shape but dont have pixel perfect)

    Could you find any solution to this problem?
     
  7. okcompute_unity

    okcompute_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Posts:
    540
  8. Rhyusaky

    Rhyusaky

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    I has the same problem in 2019.1.0a8 version too
     
  9. Professoralex13

    Professoralex13

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem but I went under advanced and clicked show preview packages and many more packages appeared under all packages
     
  10. Rhyusaky

    Rhyusaky

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Sometimes appear, sometimes not, when I restart Unity, after a time the packages appear
     
  11. phygitalmadhouse

    phygitalmadhouse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    NICE
     
    tgbailey and CGstunts like this.
  12. hotroddd1

    hotroddd1

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    In Version 2018.3.2f1 I had to do the following to get more packages to appear.

    1. Window -> Package Manger
    2. Click the drop-down on the left top corn and select All Packages
    3. Click the Advanced drop down in the top right corner and click Show preview packages
    4. Click OK/Yes on the popup window that displays

    Hopes this helps someone else
     
    sankarrathinam, CGstunts and Jonesy02 like this.
  13. CaseyHofland

    CaseyHofland

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    In Version 2019.1.0b3 I had the same issue, but I solved it by going under Layout (Top Right) > Revert Factory Settings, and then opening the Package Manager like normal. Don't ask... just accept.
     
    mfreel likes this.
  14. Rreptile

    Rreptile

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    [SOLVED] [last edit]

    It's a connection issue.

    Talked to my ISP, they confirmed that there was a problem with my internet connection.

    Everything works fine now.

    ----
    Hi,

    I am having a similar issue.
    It seems to got stuck at loading packages.

    Here's a list of things I've tried so far:
    1.Reboot windows
    2.Allowing anything related to unity in firewall settings(it had few blocked)
    3.Remove(also tried removing all unity cache files, and later, removing anything related to unity in my computer) and Re-Install unity(Also tried different versions, including beta)
    4.Running setx UNITY_NOPROXY localhost,127.0.0.1 on command prompt
    5.Creating a new project
    6.Download some packages from github and trying "add package from disk" option in upm
    7.Editing project manifest file.
    8.When I open an example project with packages included, I can see those packages in upm

    None of them worked after all.

    I opened a ticket in bug reporter and now I am waiting for a respond.

    PS: OK. I think I finally got it working for now by copying library and manifest file from an example project made by unity into my project.It still tries to load packages tho.

    I will post if I find a permanent solution.

    EDIT: Turns out it is a connection issue, problem persists, but I managed to get it work by connecting to another network. I am still searching for a solution, I will edit this later.

    UPDATE: Package manager works flawlessly when offline, but it tries to load packages forever if I connect to a network, hmm.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  15. CGstunts

    CGstunts

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you ! I spent a whole afternoon trying to find why these packages weren't installed.
    Couldn't Unity be a bit more straight forward in rolling out these things ?
     
  16. mfreel

    mfreel

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    This solved it for me.
     
  17. jt-owensby

    jt-owensby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Could someone please post a picture of this "menu"? The current version I am seeing does not have an advanced menu. 2018.2.15f1