Search Unity

Unable to run most basic script

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by naughtyknotty, Mar 17, 2018.

1. naughtyknotty

naughtyknotty

Hi, I'm new to using Unity and currently using 4.6.9 as recommended by an on line course I'm working through.

I have installed Unity and have created a basic C# script.

print ("Hello");

Like i say, very basic. When I click on play nothing shows in the console window.

The colour of the screen changes to indicate it is playing, but nothing else happens.

I'm not looking for advise on coding, just help with verifiying that Unity is working or that my computer is too old/slow to run it.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. Vryken

Vryken

But why? Recommended for what reason? Frankly I'm sick & tired of professors always teaching outdated things to students.

Anyway, you use Debug.Log to print things out to the console. "print" is not function that exists.

3. Bill_Martini

Bill_Martini

@Cucci_A is correct, use Debug.Log.

You're using a pretty old version of Unity, I'm going to recommend you upgrade to a newer version and also complete several of Unity's tutorials. Unity's tutorials are free and provide an excellent introduction to Unity, game development, and programming. See 'Learn' link above. There are also many other sites to help with learning Unity, try to use the ones that have tutorials closer to the current version of Unity. Many things are new, changed, and removed since version 4.x.

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

In addition, what you have above is not a complete script; nor is simply creating a script enough to get Unity to run it. You need to make a MonoBehaviour subclass, and then attach this to a GameObject in the scene. All this is covered by the tutorials mentioned (and I'm sure will be covered in your class, too).

5. Ryiah

Ryiah

It's definitely not valid C#, but it is valid UnityScript.