Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Unable to load Localization 0.8.0

Discussion in 'Localization Tools' started by CDF, Aug 17, 2020.

  1. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,322
    I'm using latest version of addressables (1.13.1)
    After updating localization to 0.8.0. I cannot load my game anymore :(
    errors.png

    Full error log attached.

    Is Localization 0.8.0 not supported on addressables 1.13.1?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,423
    No it should be fine. Did you rebuild your asset bundles?

    It looks like its Searching for a key called '_en'. Seems to be missing the table name. Can you check the table name is still set?
     
  3. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,322
    Yes. I'm also using the "Use AssetDatabase" play mode script
     
  4. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,423
    Can you check the table name? It looks like its gone blank in the log

    Exception: ChainOperation of Type: UnityEngine.Localization.Tables.AssetTable failed because dependent operation failed
    Exception of type 'UnityEngine.AddressableAssets.InvalidKeyException' was thrown., Key=_en, Type=UnityEngine.Localization.Tables.AssetTable

    The key should be <Table Name>_en
     
  5. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,322
    I think something has gone very wrong:
    table_names.png

    settings.png
    table.png
     
  6. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,423
    Are you able to share a copy of the project from before the upgrade? Ill try upgrading it and see what could be going wrong.
    Is the data in the table correct?
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  7. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,322
    Sent you a message :)
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  8. Goty-Metal

    Goty-Metal

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Posts:
    168
    Got similar issue, i've lost all my strings... hope it's fixed in 0.8.1
     
  9. CDF

    CDF

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1,322
    There were 2 issues that Karl helped solve for me.

    1. Make sure to check "isEmpty" before listening to LocalizedAsset.AssetChanged callback. The bulk of the errors in my original post were because of this, since some of my localized assets had no actual asset reference.
    2. If using Google sheets and formulas to drive cell contents, open the sheet and make sure the cell contents have loaded before pulling down in Unity.

    After fixing those issues, 0.8.0 worked fine.
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  10. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,423
    0.8.1 has a fix for saving changes when editing in the asset table window. If your data is corrupted when upgrading then it's something else. Please file a bug report if you can.
     
    Goty-Metal likes this.
  11. Goty-Metal

    Goty-Metal

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Posts:
    168
    0.8.1 fixed everything for me, working perfect, thanks!
     
    karl_jones likes this.