Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Unable to edit Animation Rigging Component in Play Mode

Discussion in 'Animation Rigging' started by HellGate94, Mar 24, 2021.

  1. HellGate94

    HellGate94

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    132
    Since Animation Rigging is now out of preview i really hope this is a bug and not desired behavior



    i'm sure the reason is because it uses burst / jobs in the background and the data is copied to native containers, but as a user i really don't care. this is unusable...

    Animation Rigging 1.0.3
    Unity 2020.3.1f1
     
  2. MariusLangeland

    MariusLangeland

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Mecanim is currently animating this object, thus you will be unable to alter it yourself. You can not move objects with active keyframes.

    Use another object with multi-parent constraint in order to move your animated object procedurally at runtime.
     
  3. HellGate94

    HellGate94

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    132

    the object is just an empty i created for the source object in the multi aim constraint. it has no parent transform so no animation should be interfering
     
  4. shashwat11m

    shashwat11m

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    DID YOU FIND ANY SOLUTION! I am stuck with this problem from a week.
    Please Help.
     
  5. HellGate94

    HellGate94

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    132
    nah i haven't bothered with it anymore. gave up on unity fixing basic things like this
     
  6. shashwat11m

    shashwat11m

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I find a trick to work with this bug, you can disable animator component, then you can edit rigging component or transforms. And enable the animator component to see the results.
    Hope the bug get fixed soon to do the things smoothly.
     
    unity_zL4mJaTePZ9bOg likes this.
  7. HellGate94

    HellGate94

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    132
    nice to know there is a workaround at least
     
  8. simonbz

    simonbz

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Posts:
    295
  9. HellGate94

    HellGate94

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    132
    it's been a while but as far as i remember and understand from the bug report it's not the same. the game object i tried to move was not part of the animation but a pain empty go with no parent. also i was not able to edit any properties of the rig component and it was also not part of the animation. the whole hierarchy looked something like this (as suggested in the docs & that ninja demo video):

    ModelContainer
    |-> RootBone
    |-> SkinnedMeshRenderer
    |-> Rig + MultiAimConstraint
    TargetGameObject

    but that's only out of memory. i no longer have this project so i can't confirm it
     
  10. chemicalcrux

    chemicalcrux

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Posts:
    726
    I've been running into this occasionally. I checked that all of my animation states have writeDefaults checked (with it unchecked, weights get frozen; with it checked, I can edit weights).

    I can rotate the empty GameObjects that I'm using as sources for a Twist Chain constraint, but I can't move them. They're also getting moved out of their initial positions, which is strange. It's like they're being animated, but I'm pretty sure that there's nothing pointing at them, and that nothing is referring to them by name.

    Is there anything I can do to find out what's animating their positions?
     
  11. NicolasSouza-NIckSDev

    NicolasSouza-NIckSDev

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    hi guys, one of you find a solution?
     
  12. Dennisrudolph

    Dennisrudolph

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Did you enable Preview in the animation window?