Search Unity

Unable to download "disabled" assets?

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by AcidSheep, Nov 23, 2021.

1. AcidSheep

AcidSheep

Hello,

I have been using Unity for many years now and I have purchased well over 100 assets in my time using it.
    Recently I found that some of my assets have become "disabled" and I cannot download them anymore from the package manager.

What I have seen happen most of the time is assets becoming "deprecated" and then I can't buy them anymore but still download them. But now, some assets that I have paid good money for are apparently gone for good.

For instance, this Space Skybox I bought and would have liked to use on a new project:
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/2d/textures-materials/sky/space-skybox-clouds-52928
    (The link is dead of course)

Is that normal - and why did this happen?
    And do I now have to keep all of my assets stored somewhere on my hard drive in case Unity (or the developer) decides to pull some assets again?

I tried to find information about this in the forum but couldn't find anything relevant - so sorry if that has already been addressed somewhere else

Thanks!

Sabso and JBR-games like this.
  2. It is normal. Since it is impossible to check all assets against all IP violations beforehand, any assets and publishers become permanently removed from the Asset Store as soon as it becomes clear that they violated copyright or any other IP-related rules/laws. These asset won't be available for purchase or download for anyone since they have problematic legal status.
    Packages which has no legal problems but the author no longer wish to maintain them become deprecated but downloadable for any user who purchased them.

Any further questions / complaints should be aimed to the customer service, let them know that it is not clear what happened and what you expect the solution should be.