Search Unity

Unable to change locale (build)

Discussion in 'Localization Tools' started by d3cim0, Jun 10, 2022.

  1. d3cim0

    d3cim0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Hi there!

    The code below works as a charm in the editor when I want to change a locale but after creating a build the same code does not change the language selected, so I was wondering if I'm missing something.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public void SetLanguage(int index)
    2.     {
    3.         SetLocalization(index);
    4.     }
    5.  
    6.     void SetLocale(Locale locale)
    7.     {
    8.         LocalizationSettings.SelectedLocale = locale;
    9.     }
    10.  
    11.     public void SetLocalization(int languageIndex)
    12.     {
    13.         if (languageIndex < LocalizationSettings.AvailableLocales.Locales.Count)
    14.         {
    15.             SetLocale(LocalizationSettings.AvailableLocales.Locales[languageIndex]);
    16.         }
    17.     }
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    8,297
    Did you build the addressables?
     
  3. d3cim0

    d3cim0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Hi Karl, I'm actually doing so right now and I'm waiting for the build to be created, thanks for the reminder since I forgot to do it at the first attempt. I will let you know if this solves the issue in a few minutes.
     
  4. d3cim0

    d3cim0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    That was indeed the reason. So I'm attaching a screenshot to point out where to go in order to fix the issue in case someone else finds the same scenario. Thanks a lot for your help!

    upload_2022-6-10_21-9-46.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2022
    karl_jones likes this.