Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

UMA - Unity Multipurpose Avatar on the Asset Store!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by FernandoRibeiro, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    If you're talking about the example content, they have full face rigs, and you can create expressions using either the expression player, or by animating the face bones.
    If you're making your own races, then you'll need to either rig the face with a full face rig, and setup all the DNA for it (etc), or use blendshapes. A face rig has many advantages, but a few disadvantages. There are edge cases where you would be better off with blendshapes (you have thousands on screen, and only a few blendshapes, for example). But usually you are better off with a face rig.
    You can equip and unequip wardrobe recipes at runtime, change races and DNA (DNA can alter bones, alter blendshapes, alter textures and overlays, apply "bone poses"). Wardrobe Recipes can turn on/off meshes (or even subsets of submeshes), alter textures, etc, add DNA, adjust bone poses, etc -using the recipe. Or if you are wanting to manually manage it, you can also do that.
     
  2. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    So if you are using the core content, I'm assuming you generated an UMAData, and added slots & overlays to it. Using that method, you would just add your new head instead of the old one, and regenerate it.

    If you are using a DynamicCharacterAvatar, then you can create recipes that hide the old head, and add the new head. If you permanently want to change the default base race recipe, then just open the base race recipe, remove the old head, and add the new one.
     
  3. angiemon

    angiemon

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Posts:
    30
    @Jaimi Hi there and thanks for the answer!
    When I drop the new generated Head Slot into the recipe (and use the Overlay of the existing Slot) and remove the old slot the face vanishes alltogether (so, just a creepy dude with teetch and eyeballs is staring at me)

    When I drop the new mesh into the slot (you know in the inspector, the "drop mesh here to update blabla") it also vanishes. What am I missing? :(

    Also, the base content with all the body slots, aren't they created from the FBX that's also in the folder?
    So how does that work with submeshes?

    Thanks so much again <3
     
  4. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    It must not be building the slot correctly - are you getting any console errors?
     
  5. somraknakbunpa

    somraknakbunpa

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Is there anybody who can follow these youtube videos for UMA and can create a new race from 2020?


    I am new with UMA. I was try with


    Secret Anorak for all youtube like this,


    https://www.youtube.com/c/SecretAnorak/playlists


    Fernando Ribeiro for all youtube like this,





    WillB's Tutorials (UMA) https://willbgameart.com/
    I can create a new race with a new fbx but can not change clothes and DNA is not working.

    Is there anybody who can follow these youtube videos for UMA and can create a new race from 2020?
     
  6. arteria

    arteria

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,190
    Today Arteria3d release the first of our new hybrid Races. Called hybrid as they use the existing Human/Female races, with new Head Meshes and re-textures, so you can easily use existing Wardrobe Recipes for the base Human/Female without any modification

    We Present
    'Aisha'



    For total ease of use, 'Aisha' is provided as slots and recipes that simply attach to the existing Human Female!

    The pack can be purchased for just $12.99 whilst raising to $25 after the intro 1 week.

    Direct link to purchase:
    https://arteria3d.myshopify.com/products/uma-race-aisha
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2022
    Jaimi likes this.
  7. angiemon

    angiemon

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Posts:
    30
    @Jaimi hi there and thansk again! I think the problem might be that the UMA fbx only has the Unified Model, and not also the ones split up into slots (unless you can do that with the submeshes of the Unified Mesh? But I don't think so?

    Do you know what I mean?
     
  8. angiemon

    angiemon

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Posts:
    30
    @Jaimi Hi again! A little addition: Maybe it's better I tell you what I wanna accomplish: I want to use the UMA Core Avatars (the male and female DCS so be specific), but want to change the face mesh so that they smile per default (they have no face animation, I don't know which animations are gonna be used, so this will be the easiest solution for this project)

    My approach was to open the UMA mesh, change it accordingly and replace it with the current slot, but for the life of me don't manage to do it :( Do you happen to know what would be the best ay to do this?
     
  9. arteria

    arteria

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,190
    Jaimi likes this.
  10. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Well, you can just add the expression player, and make them smile with that. :)

    Or if you want to change the models, it's best to use the source files here:

    https://github.com/umasteeringgroup/content-pack
     
  11. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    arteria likes this.
  12. MAVG

    MAVG

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Excuse me but i have a question, is it possible to create a blendshape or bone altering slider that also affect other sliders like if you move that slider to 100% others return to 0%
     
  13. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Yes, you would need to code it in the slider event.
     
  14. arteria

    arteria

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,190
    Jaimi likes this.
  15. MoonBeam91

    MoonBeam91

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2021
    Posts:
    35
    how do I get rid of this error ?

    AddBonesRecursive: GameObject already exists in the dictionary! Consider renaming those bones. For example, `Items` under each hand bone can become `LeftItems` and `RightItems`.
     
  16. MAVG

    MAVG

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Oh cool where is slider event at?, i am kinda new learning this,
    also i have a suggestion you could add the function to deactivate bones and then some meshes associated with it like arms and hands meshes if the base bones associated with them or parented to it reach scale 0 on every axis, this function would actually multiply the power of uma even further.

    lets say create an avatar with 4 arms and them and if there is a slider that control the size of for example the second pair of arms once the slider is set to -1 for example and the arms are so small that they seem to dissapear said function would deactivate the bones and meshes of those arms making things easier for the cpu.
     
  17. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    It's saying that you mounted an item, but that item has a duplicate name. For various reasons, items that are mounted should have unique names. So like the error is sayin, if you mounted a sword under the left hand, perhaps name the gameobject "LefthandSword" or something like that.
     
  18. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    The slider event would be on the slider, and be part of your UI. Look here for more information:
    https://learn.unity.com/project/creative-core-ui

    There's nothing stopping you from scaling bones to 0 with DNA. But I think this is likely to not look well. You are probably better off having a separate torso.
     
  19. angiemon

    angiemon

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Posts:
    30
    Hi! This finally worked like I expected it to, huge thanks!!!!! :)
    (No idea why I couldn't seperate it myself because it then didn't work anymore but alas.. important thing now is, it does!! ^^)

    Another question: Do you know how I can "extract" a Character (like as a Prefab with all the used meshes/slots etc inside) so I have a prefab that I can also use in another project etc.? :)
    Hope this makes sense, we are having this avatar designer that we are working on and currently it only exports the character as a json (txt) file, I would like to sort of extract the character as a prefab :3

    Thanks again, this literally saved me!! :)
     
  20. UnLogick

    UnLogick

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,745
    Hmm... that was never intended... We made the unique name to quickly and unique be able to find a transform for the dna system, unity has a unique name requirement as part of the animation system already so it was never considered a limitation. But never really took items into account... I guess they have to stay out of the primary recipe, so even if you use uma to customize them they have to be their own hierarchy and then nested post creation. As a side note, it might be worth making a feature where you can tell AddBonesRecursively to stop at certain bones... like "left hand item" or something like that to easily mitigate this issue. Or one could just leave the items out of the uma hierarchy and use a lateupdate to sync with the hands.
     
  21. VR_Junkie

    VR_Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Posts:
    77
    Hello, wondering why just my female UMAs lips are like this. I feel like I set some quality setting or something up wrong
     

    Attached Files:

  22. yale3d

    yale3d

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    Hi, is there an event raised after "SetSlot(recipe); BuildCharacter();" to signal when the character is built?
    (Like DCA.CharacterCreated UMADataEvent on character creation)
     
  23. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    CharacterUpdated is called after every build.
     
  24. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Yeah, we have implemented a couple of different ways of handling this - The simplest way is to create a tag "UMAIGNORE", and it will stop the hierarchy at that item. In addition, you can check the "Save and restore ignored items" on the generator, and when it deletes and rebuilds the skeleton, it will save and restore the ignored items to the hierarchy. We also have a "UmaMountedItem" class, which puts the item outside the hierarchy, and then updates it in the LateUpdate.
     
    UnLogick likes this.
  25. yale3d

    yale3d

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    Thanks for the reply!
    I tried that, but i must have missed something, 'cause i get no callback. Here is what i tried.

    public void ChangeWardrobe(UMATextRecipe recipe)
    {
    DCA.SetSlot(recipe);
    DCA.CharacterUpdated = new UMADataEvent();
    DCA.CharacterUpdated.AddListener(UMAUpdated);
    DCA.BuildCharacter();
    DCA.ForceUpdate(true, true, true);
    }

    private void UMAUpdated(UMAData arg0)
    {
    Debug.Log("UMAUpdated");
    }

    I get no Debug message. Where did i go wrong?
     
  26. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    It's not called at edit time, but is called when playing in the editor, or in a build. Are you getting any errors in the console? Unity will terminate functions if this happens.
     
  27. yale3d

    yale3d

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    Hmm. Interesting, I'm in Play mode and i get no errors.
    I mean no, no errors, and still no event callback.
     
  28. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,963
    Hi, trying to get back into UMA after a long time, and the example scenes seems to work fine but they all keep throwing this error every frame:

    Assertion failed on expression: 'material.sharedMaterialData->smallMaterialIndex != 0'
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent (int,intptr,bool&)
     
  29. virror

    virror

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,963
    Never mind, found the solution in an earlier post and that solved it.
     
  30. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    I'm definitely seeing them in the console here: Events.jpg

    So I'm not quite sure what is happening.
    First, I would recommend to upgrade to the latest alpha, so we are on a similar release - it also has quite a few bug fixes.

    https://github.com/umasteeringgroup/UMA/releases/tag/2.13a2
     
  31. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
  32. yale3d

    yale3d

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    Ok, thanks for the advice! I cannot upgrade right now - 2 weeks until deadline, so that would stir up things a bit i guess... :) But it's OK, i have a workaround now, for the sake of the deadline, and after that i'll check out the latest.
    Again, thanks!
     
  33. yale3d

    yale3d

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    Hi, can i add the capsule collider without adding a Rigidbody component? I don't need it, cause the character starts falling :-/ I tried to remove Rigidbody, but on the CharacterCreated, i still cannot GetComponent it, I have no idea, why.
    EDIT: Ok nevermind, i add the collider manually instead and set the size later, so i don't need to add the Capsule Recipe. :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2022
    Jaimi likes this.
  34. Ramkesh_Shadowcast

    Ramkesh_Shadowcast

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi ,
    Thank you for great asset .
    Is it possible to create half body character in UMA 2? . I am wokring on a VR multiplayer app . I need to use half body character . If ans is yes ,please give me some guidance .
     
  35. VR_Junkie

    VR_Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Posts:
    77
    Hello, I never received a response to this question. Unfortunately I have been unable to find the culprit. Do you have any ideas?
     
  36. arteria

    arteria

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,190
    Today we release our new 'Halfling-Hobbit' Male & Female Race pack for UMA



    After importing the package, and adding the pack to the global library, there will be a brand new Halfling Male/Female Race option for you, allowing these much-loved characters to be used as Player characters in your project. Full Modular clothing will be made available shortly including NPC clothing, Armours & Magic User outfits.

    The pack can be purchased including the Male & Female Halfling for just $19.99 during the first-week promotional sale.
    If you purchase, during this time, you will also receive the first clothing set free when released.

    The pack can be purchased directly from the Arteria3d UMA Store -

    https://arteria3d.myshopify.com/collections/uma/products/halfling-uma-race-male-female
     
    Jaimi likes this.
  37. arteria

    arteria

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    2,190
    And.. today we also release our second race pack - Dark Elven



    Like with the halfling pack, after import, this pack gives you a brand new UMA Race to use - Dark Elven. male & Female are included. New costumes will be released for this pack too. All existing default Human Race costumes for UMA will work with this pack too, with perhaps some small modifications if using Mesh Hiding.

    This new Dark Elven Race pack can be purchased for just $19.99 for the first week, direct from the Arteria3d webstore as below

    https://arteria3d.myshopify.com/products/dark-elven-race-for-unity-uma
     
    Jaimi likes this.
  38. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    562
    I'm trying to use and learn UMA for the first time. I see really old tutorials everywhere. Can someone point me to any new updated tutorials to get up to speed with UMA? I'm using Unity 2020.3.35 in URP.
     
  39. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,643
    Most of the old stuff is still fairly valid. It depends on what specifically you need to know. The trickiest part of UMA is getting your 3D modeling program (like Blender) to export correctly into Unity. It's not that it's a brain-teaser or anything, it's just that you have to get the export settings exactly right, and for some reason people have historically struggled with that. You can find out about the current state of the settings in the written documentation.

    You should also join the Discord for UMA if that sort of thing works for you. There are many people there who can help point you onto the right path.
     
    Jaimi likes this.
  40. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    562
    Thanks for the heads up on that appreciate it. Time to dive in and figure out some UMA then.
     
  41. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Sorry - didn't see that. That's because you have an overlay on her lips meant for Lipstick, but you didn't supply a lipstick color. You can remove the lips overlay from the race recipe if you want.
     
    VR_Junkie likes this.
  42. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Yes, but you need to prebuild the rig using the BoneBuilder if you do that. (and turn off rebuild skeleton).
     
  43. citizen_j

    citizen_j

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Hi. I'm trying to add a helper bone and i've parented it to the characters hand bone. It's visible in the fbx but I'm a bit stumped getting it accessible in the UmaDynamicCharacter hiearchy. Any insights on this one?

    I sort of got it working by adding vertex groups for the helper bone, although it's not there to deform anything. But this feels like a hack and maybe there's a better way to do this?
     
  44. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Yeah - UMA will generallly discard bones that don't contribute to the SMR. To keep helper bones, you need to add them to the "Keep bones containing" list in the Slot Builder. If you have a naming convention (like adding "_HELPER" to the name, you can add "_HELPER" to the list, and it will keep all of them.
     
  45. kuzai

    kuzai

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Hey so I just got UMA 2 but I have a problem with my FBX models, when I want to create a new race it doesn't generate an overlay automatically nor new slots, my model shows up pink and my blendshapes on my model are all gone.
    To add on top of this I get an object reference not set to an instance error and I honestly don't know what I'm doing wrong.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  46. Juanma_ivre

    Juanma_ivre

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all!

    We purchased the UMA 2 asset and being using it for a while. Now we are trying to optimize the performance on the skinning part of the UMA avatars and trying to acomplish this with a reduced bone rig avatar. We only deleted some adjust bones from the rig.
    The locomotion animations are looking good but when we try to use the ExpressionPlayer for the facial movements all the expressions seems to move on a incorrect axis, so let's say that we want to tweak the "Left Eye In_Out" instead of moving the left eyeball left and right, it moves up and right.

    Thank you!
     
  47. VardenEE

    VardenEE

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    If I pull UMA 2 into a clean/new Built-In project, it all works as expected, but if I pull it into a clean HDRP it shows the both the male and female humans as (not available) in the inspector and there's no avatar when running the demos. Is this a know problem? Something easy to fix myself?
     
  48. holy_3051

    holy_3051

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I have been trying to make work my own model and rig with UMA, but something is wrong. The rig looks broken when is loaded on a Dynamic Avatar. It is been animated but looks awful.


    So I'm wondering what are the requirements for a custom rig to be able to work on an humanoid UMA (It works fine in Generic of course). We added the Global bone already. Has the hierarchy to have a specific structure? naming,? scale? bone orientation? The character works fine if I use a simple Unity Humanoid animator with animations BTW

     
  49. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Please review the UMA content creation PDF in the UMA folder for the correct export parameters. I have an update coming that includes more information for Maya, but until then what is there should get you going for a new race.
     
  50. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,178
    Hi - You need to convert the project to HDRP, and then run the UMA SRP conversion from the menu. I recommend to visit the discord (link in the documentation) if you have issues converting to HDRP.