Search Unity

Um.. Where did the Entities package go?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by illinar, Mar 28, 2018.

  1. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    863
    upload_2018-3-28_14-28-35.png

    Is it temporarily removed? Can I still download via editing the packages json?
     
  2. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    863
    Added it via json but apparently, it didn't work well. It showed up in packages window but I'm getting about 8 compile errors from the package: C:/ProgramData/Unity/cache/packages/staging-packages.unity.com/com.unity.burst@0.2.1/Editor/BurstReflection.cs(19,67): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `AssembliesType' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?
     
    guywald likes this.
  3. Rennan24

    Rennan24

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    I might be mistaken but I believe you have to use a special Beta version found here in order to fix those compilation errors. Hope that helps! :)
     
    illinar likes this.
  4. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    863
    Oh, I am using b12 from the official download page because otherwise, the LWRP (rendering pipeline) doesn't compile. LOL, so apparently I have to choose between LWRP and ECS :D

    Thank you. It is a bit confusing because technically they both are b12 :)
     
  5. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,502
    It was unfortunate that the special build that had ECS stuff in it was labelled beta 12, and the actual beta 12 is missing that stuff.

    I believe this situation may be rectified by beta 13.
     
    Flurgle and illinar like this.
  6. Trindenberg

    Trindenberg

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Posts:
    398
    upload_2018-3-30_23-37-19.png

    I get this on b12 and b13. Was so looking forward to testing out examples :-(
     
    Flurgle likes this.
  7. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    389
    Getting an error on the ECS build:
    upload_2018-3-30_23-16-15.png


    and there's no package manager from what i can see:
    upload_2018-3-30_23-16-28.png
     
  8. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    389
    @Rennan24 How are you enjoying ECS so far? Also, did you have to do any extra setup with the ECS build?
     
  9. illinar

    illinar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    863
    By the way, Entities package won't show up in the Packages window on any version until it is added. To add it you need to have all these lines in your ProjectFolder>Packages>manifest.json

    {
    "dependencies":{
    "com.unity.entities":"0.0.11"
    },
    "testables": [
    "com.unity.collections",
    "com.unity.entities",
    "com.unity.jobs"
    ],
    "registry": "https://staging-packages.unity.com"
    }

    And of course, the Unity editor downloaded specifically from here: https://beta.unity3d.com/download/ed1bf90b40e6/public_download.html

    Not sure about b13, haven't tested.
     
    Flurgle likes this.
  10. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    389
    @illinar Thank you! That fixed the issue
     
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Realizing that there are two beta 12's after spending hours pulling my hair out... you know, at least this is a rare moment where it turns out I'm not stupid. Why would they do such a thing? It's already such a huge learning curve.

    Anyhow, if this hasn't been fixed in beta 13, does that mean that there is no beta 13 which supports ECS?

    If I have both beta 12s on my machine, what will this look like to and inside Unity Hub?

    Seriously grumpy about all of this.
     
  12. Emre_U

    Emre_U

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Posts:
    49
    Nope. No b13 for ETC. I have downloaded and found it the hard way.
     
  13. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,502
    Sounds like it will make it to beta 14:

    #41
     
  14. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    3,037
    Oh, thank F***. I am looking forward to the day when technology allows us to have software with support for two experimental features at once.
     
    RaL and MadeFromPolygons like this.
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    For the record, I'm sympathetic to them having an ECS branch.

    I'm just thoroughly unimpressed that they:

    1. Call them both "beta 12"
    2. Don't put "if you want to try ECS you need to download this specific build at this link that is meaningfully different from the current beta build that you can access via Unity Hub" in comically large bold-face text at the top of the forum, on the Youtube videos and in the readme.md files on GitHub.

    Like, seriously: wtf? They can create a modern wonder of software engineering but they can't rename an installer "UnityDownloadAssistant-2018.1.0b12-ECS"?
     
    R0man, Enzi, Flurgle and 2 others like this.
  16. UDN_627d2761-9df4-4fb9-b252-043630deb4ae

    UDN_627d2761-9df4-4fb9-b252-043630deb4ae

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I have same issue like this,did you find solution?
     
  17. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    10,778
    This post is ancient in terms of ECS.
    Which version of Unity you work with?
     
  18. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,361
    if you don't get the package to show up in package manager now, it implies you haven't enabled the preview packages on it. Unity stopped showing them by default. To enable them, look at the package managers top bar, there's "advanced" dropdown right next to search, you should be able to enable preview packages from that.
     
    CRYWOLF86 and Antypodish like this.
  19. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    10,778
  20. UDN_627d2761-9df4-4fb9-b252-043630deb4ae

    UDN_627d2761-9df4-4fb9-b252-043630deb4ae

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    i solved this,thank you all
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  21. Lukas_Andriejunas

    Lukas_Andriejunas

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Posts:
    20
    As Antypodish mentioned, in order to add Entities Package, please enable Show preview packages in the Advanced options.
     
    3DNewsman and warlokkz like this.
  22. Compl1cated

    Compl1cated

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Posts:
    2

    Thank you so much! This still works in Unity 2019.3! THANK YOU!!!!!!
     
  23. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,361
    You definitely don't need to manually add the Entities to manifest for it to show up in the list, simply turning on "show preview packages" on the package manager is enough. Of course manually adding it to manifest will make it appear there too but it's not needed.

    Also do NOT add staging registry to your manifest today. It's not updated anymore and you'll not even get the latest package updates if you do.
     
  24. Pixel2015

    Pixel2015

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    Sorry to burst the bubble but turning on "show preview packages" doesn't help at all in 2019.3 it simply doesn't show most of the preview packages anymore.

     
    R0man and OlegPavlov like this.
  25. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,361


    Just make sure you are not using that old registry. In fact it it better to make sure manifest.json doesn't itself have registry links of any kind as they nowadays do more harm than good.
     
  26. Pixel2015

    Pixel2015

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    Yep I just simply removed the manifest file and setuped the packages from scratch and it worked. I guess this is just a problem if you migrate quite old projects and skip a few Unity versions in the process.
     
  27. LeleUnity

    LeleUnity

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Posts:
    97
    In Last Unity version under Advanced it doesn't show any "show preview packages"
     
    dccoo likes this.
  28. Fribur

    Fribur

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Posts:
    136
    This toggle is now under Preferences—> Package Manager
     
    Lukas_Andriejunas likes this.
  29. Skaltum

    Skaltum

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    DLeb and not_a_valid_username like this.
  30. Camarent

    Camarent

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Posts:
    168
    It is strange. I still did not see it even after enabling preview packages.
     
    adammpolak and DLeb like this.
  31. shiroto, condition6d5489 and DLeb like this.
  32. Camarent

    Camarent

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Posts:
    168
    DLeb likes this.
  33. condition6d5489

    condition6d5489

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
  34. rtknapp28

    rtknapp28

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Posts:
    3