Search Unity

Unity UI Update - Q1 2021

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by benoitd_unity, Jan 22, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    7,454
    Besides the point that they should put out some documentation when they think they released a first stable version and they think it is ready for more wide adaption and stress test from users, we have a lot of people here who are using it, so you either have a misconfig or improper/incompatible version. The UI Toolkit package is working for some generous extent (missing features though).
     
  2. burningmime

    burningmime

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Posts:
    335
    I know this is old and the decision was made but...

    1) It totally was meeting the quality standard; this is an awesome addition to Unity
    2) It's very helpful to users to be able to pick and choose what features they want to have in an alpha/unready state. I don't want to update my whole project to 2021.2; I barely have it working on 2020.3. However, I do need to play around with new UI toolkit features.
    3) If updating packages is hugely burdensome on the team, I'd argue the issue is with the packaging process.
     
    ModLunar, influxus and dKleinTriCAT like this.
  3. adammpolak

    adammpolak

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Posts:
    363
    Hey i felt the same way and made a how-to: https://moetsi.gitbook.io/unity-dot...ilder-and-ui-toolkit/creating-a-screenmanager
     
  4. Krahgnatokz

    Krahgnatokz

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Would it be safe to add the UI Toolkit preview for runtime UIs to a 2021.1 project while 2021.2 comes out with the integrated version?
    I added it to another project and if I remove the preview package it breaks the editor window. I believe the Editor version of UIElements gets removed as well. Hope I explained myself.
     
  5. thetnswe

    thetnswe

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Posts:
    46
    Unity 2021.2.0b2

    Setting unityFont to the Label doesn't affect anything. I tried setting the text from both UI Builder editor and through C# code. Is that a bug?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity