Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

UI Input: Hide Input Issue on Android

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by sumeeton, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. sumeeton

    sumeeton

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    I'm trying to hide the input on Android device, and it does hide on the device but the Input field doesn't behave like the native Input field. The text is not selectable and the delete key doesn't work. It's annoying that hide input is of no use from a long time and still there. Is it a Unity bug? How do I solve this issue?
     
  2. blizzy

    blizzy

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    775
    Add to that, it looks like hiding the native input field got broken in Unity 5.0.0f4. Even though the checkbox is checked, the native input field is no longer hidden on Android. (I don't know if iOS has an equivalent of that native input field, but if it does, the bug does not appear on iOS.)
     
  3. sumeeton

    sumeeton

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    I reported the issue to Unity. But it seems like they don't really care about this issue. Doesn't seem to be on their priority list. :(
     
  4. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    290
    I reported the same bug today. It's not about UI system. It's about native keyboard support which is about this code:

    "TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = true;" is not working in Unity 5.

    using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

    public class custom : MonoBehaviour
    {
    void Start()
    {
    TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = true;
    }

    void OnGUI()
    {
    if (GUILayout.Button("Keyboard", GUILayout.MinWidth(400), GUILayout.MinHeight(200)))
    {
    TouchScreenKeyboard.Open(null);
    }
    }
    }
     
  5. OhYeahDev

    OhYeahDev

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Posts:
    3
  6. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    717
    Is there an update on this?
     
  7. Gorlog

    Gorlog

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    i think it's bugged i try last beta today
     
  8. shafqatjamil

    shafqatjamil

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    is it fixed in 5.5?
     
  9. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    717
    It is one of those bugs for an obscure feature not many people use, so don't hold your breath for a fix any time soon! :p

    I would also file a bug report but it seems two people above said already have.

    Though searching the issue tracker, I have only found this issue.

    From what I understand, the issues you report do not appear in the issue tracker website until unity 'approves' your bug report (?) and I can't see any android TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput related bug there, so maybe they havn't even seen it yet? (Though it has been 1 and a half years since the first report.)

    Donno, we can only speculate until someone from Unity actually says something.
     
  10. Unity_United

    Unity_United

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    It's resolved guys...

    TouchScreenKeyboard keyboard;
    TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = false;
    if (keyboard == null || !TouchScreenKeyboard.visible)
    keyboard = TouchScreenKeyboard.Open ("", TouchScreenKeyboardType.Default, false, false, false, false, "xyz");
     
  11. htmoore

    htmoore

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    No it is not... Tried in both Unity 2017.1.1f1 and Unity 2017.2.0b6
     
  12. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    resolved?
     
  13. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    this bug from 2015 and unity not resolve this bug!!!!
     
  14. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    SniperED007 likes this.
  15. SniperED007

    SniperED007

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    112
  16. twiggs1

    twiggs1

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Yeahs still broken lol
     
    vonbetelgeuse likes this.
  17. vonbetelgeuse

    vonbetelgeuse

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Posts:
    124
  18. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    290
    They didn't fix more obvious bugs for years. No surprise if this doesn't get fixed for 3 more years. 5 years? Still no surprise.
     
    vonbetelgeuse likes this.
  19. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    I did request this get addressed and trying to get an ETA on when the fix will be available for Android.
     
    Prodigga and vonbetelgeuse like this.
  20. vonbetelgeuse

    vonbetelgeuse

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Posts:
    124
    What's eating my lunch is they've said Unity is going public which means now they're going to be pandering to bigwigs instead of fixing bugs :|

    Btw I'm not blaming the devs or engineers, I think every dev knows this is an issue with overzealous management.
     
  21. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    290
    On the other hand, if they can get big money from going public, they can hire more engineers to fix more bugs. Going public is not a bad thing. If it was, no company would go public. Also, you don't need to be a bigwig to own the shares of a company.
     
  22. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    I spoke with the Android team last night and this issue has been fixed in 2019.2 and will be back ported to 2019.1. Assuming all goes well (with all of us testing this), it is likely to get back ported to 2018.3 as well.
     
    perevezentsev and vonbetelgeuse like this.
  23. vonbetelgeuse

    vonbetelgeuse

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Posts:
    124
    And then they'll beat profit expectations and fire 8% of their staff in celebration :D Going public only ever translates to keeping investors happy at any cost, the same investors that wonder if they have the Facebook do they have the internet also.

    As much as I cherish Unity I know it's time to diversify into other game engines because of this move.

    Neat thanks for the update, I'll be waiting on 2018.3
     
  24. LuizBenetonScopely

    LuizBenetonScopely

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Posts:
    7
  25. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    Hide mobile input only hides the single line text field above the virtual keyboard. This does not hide the full soft keyboard.

    Hide mobile input should work correctly on iOS.
     
  26. peter_unity233

    peter_unity233

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    I'm seeing this issue in 2018.3 so I'm assuming it didn't get fixed...
     
  27. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    Not in Unity 2018.3 yet. Should be in 2019.1 and up.
     
  28. adam_bursill

    adam_bursill

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Can confirm that it is fixed in 2019.1. @Stephan_B do you know when it will be backported to 2018.3? or even in 2018.4 when it's released in the next few weeks?
     
    Stephan_B likes this.
  29. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    Talking with the engineer tonight about this topic for 2018.3 / .4
     
  30. adam_bursill

    adam_bursill

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Any news if this will make it into 2018.3 / .4?
     
  31. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    Waiting to hear back from the Android team about the backport for 2018.3 / .4
     
  32. adam_bursill

    adam_bursill

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Has there been any update on this? I noticed it was not in 2018.4.0f1 maybe a future update? We are not planning on updating to a tech stream but would really like this feature.
     
  33. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2,767
    PR is still in flight. Although for 2018.3, this might end up in 2018.4. Not sure yet.
     
  34. h0per

    h0per

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    hi,
    this bug isn't still fixed in 2018.4 ???