Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

UI Input: Hide Input Issue on Android

Discussion in 'Unity UI & TextMesh Pro' started by sumeeton, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. sumeeton

    sumeeton

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    I'm trying to hide the input on Android device, and it does hide on the device but the Input field doesn't behave like the native Input field. The text is not selectable and the delete key doesn't work. It's annoying that hide input is of no use from a long time and still there. Is it a Unity bug? How do I solve this issue?
     
  2. blizzy

    blizzy

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    775
    Add to that, it looks like hiding the native input field got broken in Unity 5.0.0f4. Even though the checkbox is checked, the native input field is no longer hidden on Android. (I don't know if iOS has an equivalent of that native input field, but if it does, the bug does not appear on iOS.)
     
  3. sumeeton

    sumeeton

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    I reported the issue to Unity. But it seems like they don't really care about this issue. Doesn't seem to be on their priority list. :(
     
  4. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    272
    I reported the same bug today. It's not about UI system. It's about native keyboard support which is about this code:

    "TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = true;" is not working in Unity 5.

    using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

    public class custom : MonoBehaviour
    {
    void Start()
    {
    TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = true;
    }

    void OnGUI()
    {
    if (GUILayout.Button("Keyboard", GUILayout.MinWidth(400), GUILayout.MinHeight(200)))
    {
    TouchScreenKeyboard.Open(null);
    }
    }
    }
     
  5. OhYeahDev

    OhYeahDev

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Posts:
    3
  6. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    Is there an update on this?
     
  7. Gorlog

    Gorlog

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    i think it's bugged i try last beta today
     
  8. shafqatjamil

    shafqatjamil

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    is it fixed in 5.5?
     
  9. Prodigga

    Prodigga

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Posts:
    611
    It is one of those bugs for an obscure feature not many people use, so don't hold your breath for a fix any time soon! :p

    I would also file a bug report but it seems two people above said already have.

    Though searching the issue tracker, I have only found this issue.

    From what I understand, the issues you report do not appear in the issue tracker website until unity 'approves' your bug report (?) and I can't see any android TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput related bug there, so maybe they havn't even seen it yet? (Though it has been 1 and a half years since the first report.)

    Donno, we can only speculate until someone from Unity actually says something.
     
  10. Unity_United

    Unity_United

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    It's resolved guys...

    TouchScreenKeyboard keyboard;
    TouchScreenKeyboard.hideInput = false;
    if (keyboard == null || !TouchScreenKeyboard.visible)
    keyboard = TouchScreenKeyboard.Open ("", TouchScreenKeyboardType.Default, false, false, false, false, "xyz");
     
  11. htmoore

    htmoore

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    No it is not... Tried in both Unity 2017.1.1f1 and Unity 2017.2.0b6
     
  12. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    resolved?
     
  13. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    this bug from 2015 and unity not resolve this bug!!!!
     
  14. clockfree

    clockfree

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    SniperED007 likes this.
  15. SniperED007

    SniperED007

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
  16. twiggs1

    twiggs1

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Yeahs still broken lol