Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

UI focus bug

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by snacktime, May 1, 2020.

  1. snacktime

    snacktime

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    3,352
    This has happened to me on the last 2 versions, but that's all I've used.

    Entering play mode the top menu flickers, and most of the ui is unresponsive. It takes clicking a lot to get focus. If I get focus on some areas like the project view or switch from game/scene it gains focus and sticks. If I can register a click on the top menu it reverts to the bad behavior once I close the dropdown. If I can register a click on a hierarchy item it gets focus but the rest keeps flipping back and forth and it slows the UI greatly.

    This doesn't always happen, there is some trigger I can't find and once you hit that it happens consistently when entering play mode until you restart Unity. It triggers fairly often for me, 5-10 minutes or so after I open Unity.
     
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,054
    It would be great if you could submit a bug report for this issue with a reproducible.
     
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,326
    I'm having the same issue. There is no obvious reproduce, the problem seems to occur randomly. The reproduce is basically "use Unity for a while" and at some point the UI is stuck as described above.

    What I can bring to the table though: Once the UI is stuck and you select an entry in the Hierarchy, Unity outputs this message:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Should not be capturing when there is a hotcontrol
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/IMGUI/GUIUtility.cs:179)
    I've seen this just a minute ago in Unity 2018.4.22f1.
     
  4. snacktime

    snacktime

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    3,352
    Seems like there is a strong link to if I have had the profiler open. It's not always an immediate trigger, it doesn't go away when the profiler is closed. But not using the profiler like yesterday I didn't use it all day, and no bug. Today it hit right after opening the profiler for the first time.

    Sort of makes sense because it acts like a window focus issue, which implies something else is trying to take it.