Search Unity

Bug UI Builder issues in 2019.4.1f1

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by MvdLaar, Jul 7, 2020.

1. MvdLaar

MvdLaar

Hi team,

For a new project I've been working with the newly released UI Builder package to build a test menu UI. I am a designer and not a programmer, but I have lots of experience with CSS which makes life a bit easier - however, I tried to build this exclusively with the UI Builder tool.

Below are a few very consistent and reproducible bugs/problems I wanted to share in hopes of helping the team improving the tool. I am not entirely sure which of these have been already reported, but many people here seem to not use the UI Builder that much.
    1. Setting the width of a border or radius to 0px sets only the left parameter.

Definitely a minor issue because there's rarely a use for it, but it's weird as some other multi-layered directional settings work properly with this (like margins and paddings). It does work when all parameters already have been set prior to the change:

2. Every selection and letter is an undo action.
      If I type the word 'Button', that would be 6 undo's to have the text gone. Would be great if this could be seen as one action. Similarly, selecting a button is seen as an action in the undo, which makes it hard to keep a mental grasp on the actual tasks that were done. Also, scaling an item is often saved as multiple steps, instead of as the initial size to the new size.

3. Multiselecting objects in the hierarchy would be great for stuff like deleting and moving.
      I understand it might be a bit tough for all the different USS inspector data to multi-edit, but at least multi-selecting in the hierarchy to remove a list of items would be nice!

4. Pixel sizes for width and height become huge (1mil+) when simply resizing with the mouse.