Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[uGUI] Dynamic font scaling and layout based on pixel density, resolution, and device type?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by JimArtificer, Sep 2, 2014.

1. JimArtificer

JimArtificer

I am looking for some information about what is possible with the new uGUI system. First, let me say that the demo videos are impressive. This looks like a slick version of what NGUI and DaikonForge were offering.

While the 3D projections into world space are flashy, I am disappointed I haven't seen anything about the topics mentioned in the title. Unity's primary strength is that it runs on many platforms. As a developer, I want to be able to create a UI that will work on multiple platforms. One that will change to accommodate screens with different pixel densities, resolutions, and physical sizes.

It is not sufficient for everything on the screen to scale up or down when building a game intended for PC and tablet/phone. Such an approach commonly leads to blurry textures or impossible to read fonts on at least one device.

When I wrote a UI API in XNA, I made font height the primary unit of measurement, not pixels or percentage. This approach is also being used in the most recent version of CSS for web pages.

I would be extremely happy to be wrong about this, but it doesn't appear that uGUI will allow for a "build once, deploy everywhere" UI. Are these features on the way? Have I missed something in the documentation?

2. Tim-C

Tim-C

Unity Technologies

Have you watched the tutorial videos and looked at the FAQ thread, we cover topics to do with Canvas scaling and multi resolution there.

3. JimArtificer

JimArtificer

Hi Tim, are you referring to these links?

http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/ui