Search Unity

UE4 vs Unity: Pseudo Gameplay Ability System in Unity?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by typicalturnip, Feb 7, 2020.

1. typicalturnip

typicalturnip

Hello,

I'm about to start on a new project, but I am at a loss regarding which engine to use.

While I am not an expert, I have experience in both engines, and I was wondering if there is a similar system to UE4's GAS in Unity.

One of the big perks of that framework, having worked with it (once it is set up), iteration and implementation of assets, abilities, and other gameplay events is really quick and efficient. I prefer to work in a pseudo modular way, with parent classes acting as a mold and then attaching different modules for behavior to the appropriate children. The Gameplay Ability system has been a nice complement to this workflow.

For the scale of this game, I am dreading the time to create abilities and add characters/creatures while not being able to leverage the ability to recycle components as I normally do in UE4.

Am I overthinking the amount of work this would be in Unity, and if possible, am I able to maintain this workflow?

I guess I could effectively make a bunch of individual component scripts and have a few main ones that call those features, so I can drag and drop them in when needed.

2. typicalturnip

typicalturnip

Forgot to add this to the first post, but I also heavily utilize excel spreadsheets to be pulling different data from. Can Unity do this?

3. LaneFox

LaneFox

Only you can decide which engine is more appropriate for your project. If the feature doesn't exist in one of them then your development competency is the limiting factor and maybe you need specific built in features. If that's the case, just pick one and go for it.

vakabaka, Deleted User and Ruberta like this.
  4. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons