Search Unity

UE4 to Unity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shion33, Oct 21, 2019.

1. shion33

shion33

Hello, I'm an amateur dev and I've been working in UE4 for a while, but after finding out about Unity's DOTS I've really considered switching. I'm just wondering if anyone has experience going from Unreal to Unity and could share some of the major differences? I know the programming is done in C#, which is no big deal for me since I'm used to C++ and C# would be easier if anything.

dogzerx2 likes this.
  2. mgear

mgear

3. iamthwee

iamthwee

I think it should be easier, but there isn't a lot of those AAA features you get with unreal out of the box with unity. So be prepared for some tinkering and setup.

I mean I only used unreal once then closed it down because my computer at the time couldn't handle it so. . .

akaBase likes this.
  4. shion33

shion33

Thanks, this looks like a good place to start. Although much of it is to do with the GameObject system, which I assume isn't used with the DOTS much or at all.

So Unity is more customizable? I'd much prefer that over all the AAA features that Unreal has, which are mostly oriented towards artists.

5. iamthwee

iamthwee

I would say unity is the go to for rapid prototyping. I think a lot of indies soon wake up to the fact that they're never gonna make a AAA game with such limited resourses so unity despite its flaws is the clear winner.

I've got to be honest, I have a leaning towards 3D and high end graphics so I'm always drawn towards tech like unreal and lumberyard and raytracing etc but ultimately I know it is just a pipedream.

If I was to ship a real game it would be a 2d platformer where unity shines.

6. iamthwee

iamthwee

Oh and once you start scripting in unity you'll wonder why you spent so much time in blueprints or writing verbose c++ classes (most ppl don't even get that far)

7. Frienbert

Frienbert