Search Unity

[Ubuntu 19.04, UH 2.0.1] Cannot add existing projects to the list

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by alt3r3d, Jun 4, 2019.

  1. alt3r3d

    alt3r3d

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Hello, I'm using Unity Hub 2.0.1 (but got the issue on 2.0, when installed Hub) and I can't open any of my existing projects, no clue about editor versions.
    So, when I click "Add" button, I get the file explorer as usual, but when I select a project, nothing happens.
    Hub seems to recognize project folders, because I get a message when I select a random folder that is not a Unity project, but it doesn't update the list anyways, so I can't get access to my projects.
    I can also create a new project and then the editor opens, but to open existing project I still need Hub.

    I don't know what data to give, so feel free to ask it: I will check this thread very often to get some answers.
    Thanks for reading at least...
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
  2. Vladimir-Borodin

    Vladimir-Borodin

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Create new blank project and open it.
    Close Unity and Unity Hub.
    Try to add your project again.

    This helps to me.
     
  3. elhana_unity

    elhana_unity

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Check if your project folder has any non-english characters. I just renamed mine to english and it worked right away.
    Looks like a regression.
     
  4. afshinity

    afshinity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Posts:
    334
    Hi there,

    I heard that we have this issue in other threads. Would you please report a bug and we can see why the add does not work?
    @elhana_unity We tested with non-english chars (and even emojis) and it should work. I am wondering if you can share the character that causes the issue with us.

    Thanks,
    Afshin
     
  5. elhana_unity

    elhana_unity

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    @afshinity I've sent a bug report already.
    Maybe it is not character related, but my path is:
    /opt/Unity/Projects/тест - wont work, last 4 are russian
    /opt/Unity/Projects/test - works.
     
  6. elhana_unity

    elhana_unity

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Slightly different path, I checked if fs settings matter...

    strace (if it helps):
    stat("/home/elhana/Unity/proj/B5AB", 0x7fffdabffb60) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    openat(AT_FDCWD, "/home/elhana/Unity/proj/B5AB/ProjectSettings/ProjectVersion.txt", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
    openat(AT_FDCWD, "/home/elhana/Unity/proj/B5AB/ProjectSettings/ProjectSettings.asset", O_RDONLY|O_CLOEXEC) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)

    elhana@stellarwind:~$ ls -la /home/elhana/Unity/proj/
    итого 15
    drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 3 июн 11 09:11 .
    drwxrwxrwx 10 elhana elhana 11 июн 11 09:07 ..
    drwxrwxrwx 11 elhana elhana 15 июн 11 09:10 тест
    elhana@stellarwind:~$ ls -la /home/elhana/Unity/proj/тест/ProjectSettings/Project*
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 elhana elhana 52884 июн 4 02:29 /home/elhana/Unity/proj/тест/ProjectSettings/ProjectSettings.asset
    -rwxrw-rw- 1 elhana elhana 85 июн 3 00:17 /home/elhana/Unity/proj/тест/ProjectSettings/ProjectVersion.txt

    p.s. Case: 1161713
    p.p.s. Looks like utf-16be (last bytes??):
    >>> b'\x04B\x045\x04A\x04B'.decode('utf-16be')==u'тест'
    True
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  7. ConsatDave

    ConsatDave

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I, too, am experiencing this issue. I do not have any non-english characters in the path. I can see that, in the only log available to me, that UnityHub is trying to perform a read operation on a directory that I try to open. The following is the excerpt from ~/.config/UnityHub/logs/info-log.json:

    Code (javascript):
    1. {"moduleName":"EditorPrefLinux","level":"warn","message":"[ { Error: EISDIR: illegal operation on a directory, read errno: -21, code: 'EISDIR', syscall: 'read' } ]","timestamp":"2019-06-12T06:59:07.059Z"}
    2. {"moduleName":"EditorPrefLinux","level":"warn","message":"[ { Error: EISDIR: illegal operation on a directory, read errno: -21, code: 'EISDIR', syscall: 'read' } ]","timestamp":"2019-06-12T06:59:07.060Z"}
    3.  
    I obtained this with
    tail -f ~/config/Unity/logs/info-log.json
    and observing the new entries as they happen. The two entries above are the only entries that appear when opening a project.

    In the end, I cannot open any of my projects, which stalls my work. Any attempts to open Unity itself and then open a project through the Editor brings me to Hub in a cruel circle. I have access to a laptop that I can work on in the meantime (exact same versions of exact same software packages) where this issue does not arise. Thankfully, this has allowed me to work, but a 2015 laptop with built-in GPU is not nearly as pleasant to work with as my Ryzen 2700 machine :)

    Are there other logs that I can look at to get a glimpse of what is going wrong? Is there an open bug report that I can attach logs to? As my client is paying for a Pro subscription, is there another avenue of help that I can explore to resolve this issue?

    I am grateful for any help you can provide. I cannot attach a JSON file to this post, so I have uploaded the log to PasteBin: https://pastebin.com/S3jYnhhH

    [EDIT] Here is a tidier log file https://pastebin.com/naYMAC1b that is from a clean install of Unity Hub 2.0.1. Issue persists.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  8. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    155
    Hi,
    Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
    Currently, it seems there is issue with Non-latin based character project name in the Hub on Linux (works for Windows and Mac). We have noted it and will fix it in later update.
    For a workaround for the time being, you may rename the project folder to an English name.
    Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
    elhana_unity likes this.
  9. ConsatDave

    ConsatDave

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I have double checked my path and can confirm that I do not have any non-latin characters:
    /home/dabr/git/gitlab.com/acoemab/ex-hsa-vsa

    So while I suffer the same end result, I do not appear to have the same underlying issue as elhana_unity. I will add this to the issue, unless it is clear from the logs that I uploaded that I am using non-latin characters?

    For anyone else stumbling upon this issue, the issue in the tracker is https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...annot-be-added-to-the-list-of-projects-in-hub
     
  10. alt3r3d

    alt3r3d

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I do not have any non-latin characters in my projects name, but some of them have spaces. Could it cause the issue?
     
  11. hunabku94

    hunabku94

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Hi,
    i'd the same bug in Archlinux so support won't to consider this bug.
    The solution i found is to load project with Editor directly, after project appears in Hub :

    /home/alt3r3d/Unity/Hub/Editor/2019.1.7f1/Editor/Unity -projectPath /home/alt3r3d/Projects/MyProjet
     
  12. alt3r3d

    alt3r3d

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    I tried this once again and double-checked my path
    Here it is: /home/alt3r3d/Projects/some random test
    This still didn't work...
     
  13. alt3r3d

    alt3r3d

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Hey, I've tried this, but I got the following:

    npm ERR! missing: unity-editor-home@2.2.1, required by unity-editor@5.7.0
    npm ERR! missing: unityeditor-cloud-hub@0.0.15, required by unity-editor@5.7.0
    npm ERR! missing: unityeditor-collab-toolbar@0.7.16, required by unity-editor@5.7.0

    Do I need to just install these?
     
  14. alt3r3d

    alt3r3d

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Posts:
    10
    Oh gosh, I've solved the problem. First, I copied wrong folder so Unity thought this is not a valid project, and second, I had non-latin characters (actually didn't check this with the right folder yet) in my path.
     
    safaGH and hunabku94 like this.
  15. ConsatDave

    ConsatDave

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I tried to invoke the Editor from the terminal with the -projectPath switch but, for some perverse reason, I end up with the Hub opened with no projects in the project window.

    Since you are an Arch user, can you provide me a list of your installed packages? I feel that I must be missing an implicit dependency somewhere...
     
  16. hunabku94

    hunabku94

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Sure :
    unityhub (AUR)
    dotnet-sdk (dotnet-host and dotnet-runtime installed as dependencies) (community)
    referenceassemblies-pcl (mono installed as dependency) (community)
    referenceassemblies-2.0-bin (AUR)
    referenceassemblies-3.5-bin (AUR)
    msbuild-stable (AUR)
    visual-studio-code-bin (AUR)

    i also install unity-editor (AUR) dependencies :
    fontconfig
    libxst
    gtk3
    python
    cairo
    alsa-lib
    nss
    gcc-libs
    libnotify
    libxss
    glibc
    lsof


    gvfs
    jq

    in visual studio code i install extensions :
    french
    unity3d-pack

    if you tell me your graphics card(s) i can help you to install properly drivers
     
  17. ConsatDave

    ConsatDave

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the help. I have the correct drivers installed for my GPU (xf86-video-amdgpu and mesa). I have opened up a thread on the Arch forums in the hope that somebody there will know of something. Here is the link to the thread https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1852345

    I did not have the dotnet sdk, nor msbuild, but they don't appear to make a difference anyway. Thanks for the help.
     
  18. hunabku94

    hunabku94

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    41
    Dotnet and Msbuild are for VSCode
     
unityunity