Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Typical Game Development Workflow

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by MICBIRD03, Sep 21, 2018.

1. MICBIRD03

MICBIRD03

Hi guys! I’m new to Unity and the developing world and was curious if anyone would be willing to share what a typical workflow might look like for creating a game?

Would love to see the key steps how an idea might go from concept to completion.

Thanks so much,
    Michael

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I usually prototype the hardest/weirdest/highest-risk thing first. So, if my idea for a game involves pushing blobs of jelly around with chopsticks using VR controllers, then I prototype that jelly-and-chopsticks-controller system first. I don't worry about how pretty it is; I just get something running and make sure that I can actually do it, and that it feels fun.

If it doesn't feel fun, or if I conclude it's not doable, then I cut my losses and move on.

If it is doable and feels fun, then I iterate: pick the highest remaining risk, and prototype that. And repeat. The result is something that looks more and more like the real game. Eventually there are no risks left except that I will never finish the game, so I tackle that one by aggressively limiting scope creep, polishing the thing up, and pushing it out the door.

3. Vryken

Vryken

The golden rule is to break down large tasks into multiple smaller tasks.

Want to add guns in your FPS game? Then before adding any features like models, animations, sound effects, particle effects, ammo capacity, etc...
    What you should do is:
    1. Get the game camera to follow your cursor's movements.
    2. Click your mouse to generate something that would apply damage (IE: a raycast or prefab).
    3. Test if your damage system works by firing on an object and having it log some message in the console when hit.