Search Unity

Two Winger

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by earthcrosser, Jun 1, 2015.

1. earthcrosser

earthcrosser

I've been working with Unity since 2010. I've released Earth vs Mars, Pluto's Revenge, Andy Appbot, and Alien Checkers to the market. Now I am proud and excited to announce my new project Two Winger! I think it's my best work yet! But don't take my word for it, here's a 30 second app preview

2. RavenOfCode

RavenOfCode

Looks really cool, however im not a huge fan of the simplistic terrain, maybe a bit more detail?

3. earthcrosser

earthcrosser

Thanks for the feedback RavenOfCode, I guess I could add some simple trees and rocks, stuff like that, and maybe a couple extra buildings at each base. That should help to break up the scene a bit.

4. SpaceMammoth

SpaceMammoth

I actually quite like the simplistic terrain, its a certain visual style and in my opinion it works. One thought - something you could do is not let the camera come down all the way to the ground, as the games looks best from higher up. When you land the bottom 50% of the screen is useless blank grass, not useful for the player, so its more useful for the player to see more above them when you are grounded or very near the ground, and have the camera centred when you are properly in the air.

Likewise have you experimented with zooming the camera in and out a bit with altitude? I've seen that done well in these kind of side scrollers - it might not work, but worth a try, also moving the camera to the right or left to give more forwards screen space as you fly left and right. All the time keeping it sideways on. Subtle is king here, don't overdo it. Just suggestions.

Anyway, the game looks super cool, the nicest part is the plane movement seems to have a nice feel to it.

5. earthcrosser

earthcrosser