Search Unity

Two connected characters influencing each other (overlaying movements)

Discussion in '2D' started by unity_voyager, Dec 2, 2019.

1. unity_voyager

unity_voyager

Hello there,

I am new to Unity and currently working on a small 2D game in which two players can play together.
    Each of them should be able to control one of the two characters which are connected with a rope.
    Each player can move his character up and down and one of them can also make the connection between the two characters smaller (like pulling the other person closer --> so at the end the goal is to pull one character to the other while both have to avoid moving obstacles).

The first thing that seems difficult right now is how to implement this concept so it feels nice when playing.
    When the first character is moved up, the second one should also get some of that upwards movement as they are connected through the rope. Of course the second player should be still able to influence its movement.

At the moment the first character is moved with the arrow keys and by using a force on its Rigid Body like so.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.UpArrow))
    2.         {
    3.             UfoRB.AddForce(Vector3.up * UfoSpeed);
    4.         }
    5.         if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.DownArrow))
    6.         {
    7.             UfoRB.AddForce(Vector3.down * UfoSpeed);
    8.         }
    At the moment my code for the second player kind of works but the two movements oftentimes do not overly nicely. I think the reason is that I am mixing concepts on how to move stuff. At the one hand i am using Force, on the other hand I am also changing the players position by moving towards the same y coordinate as the first player using Lerp. But this was the only way I was able to do it right now.

Code (CSharp):
    1. if (Input.GetKey(KeyCode.W))
    2.         {
    3.            CosmonautRB.AddForce(Vector3.up * CosmonautSpeed);
    4.         }