Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Tutorials are broken

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by NiklasBerg, Feb 20, 2018.

  1. NiklasBerg

    NiklasBerg

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I'm trying to finish the Basic Tutorials but the guide fail to register when Iäm supposed to enter a number. I cannot get past lowering the enemy speed in "03: Tweaking Components" or setting the box position in "04: Prefab power". Strangely It detect that I enter -2 for the x position in part 04 but I cannot get past setting y.
     
  2. ArkyR

    ArkyR

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Just tried to replicate your problem with Unity 2017.3.1f1.

    Do you get any errors in your logs? Try running Unity in debug mode with following command line.

    ./Editor/Unity -logFile /dev/stdout
     
  3. ArkyR

    ArkyR

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Also tested on Unity 2018.1.0b8. Unable to replicate the problem.
     
  4. NiklasBerg

    NiklasBerg

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I've installed Unity on a laptop now and went for Unity 2018.1.0b8 instead of the 2017.xx build I used on my stationary computer. I still have the same issue and there are no errors. I've tried to change other values by using tab in the UI to see if it detects that I changed the value, I unfocused and refocused the window (with a refresh completed line added to the log as a result). I'm using Ubuntu 17.10.

    So you are able to get past "Set NavMeshAgent Speed to 1" in the third tutorial? Wierd that I get the same issue on two fresh installations.
     
  5. DominoM

    DominoM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    I've a vague recollection of a slight hiccup doing the tutorials. If I remember correctly, you might have to use the increment / decrement buttons rather than typing in a value. Basically do it exactly the same way as the tutorial shows.
     
  6. NiklasBerg

    NiklasBerg

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks!
    I don't have any buttons but discovered that I can drag within the blank area between the variable name and the value to change the value. After several minutes fighting with my faulty touchpad to set the float to exactly one I ended up with the same issue again. The tutorial says nothing about how I'm supposed to change the value, but it shouldn't matter anyway.
     
  7. DominoM

    DominoM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    I ran through the 4th tutorial to refresh my memory and didn't come across whatever was causing the vague recollection of hitting a problem. I know I did something a different way (that had the same result) and the tutorial didn't notice it, but I can't remember what it was. All I did on this one was type in the values using tab to switch between fields and it worked.

    Screenshot from 2018-02-24 09:03:47.png
     
  8. NiklasBerg

    NiklasBerg

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Nah. Nothing I do makes any difference. I even tried to enter 1.0 and press enter, and it adjusts it to1 but refuses to continue. Not super important. I'll just check the tutorials without guiding but I guess there is a bug since both my installations resulted in the same issue. Thanks for all help.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tak

    Tak

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    935
    I just ran through tutorials 3 and 4 as well, with no issues.
    I notice that the numbers in your screenshot are using comma as the decimal separator - is that the way you're typing them as well?
     
  10. FMark92

    FMark92

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Posts:
    1,160
    No, for some reason or another unity no longer(I can't remember if it ever DID) enforces thread culture for inspector. I can't even copy negative values because as soon as I click away from a value, the minus changes to one of the following:
    ‐ - ‒ – — ―
    And as for the decimal separator goes, it gets changed into a comma as soon as the value is applied but I can copy and paste it in that form, so it's no skin off my back.
     
  11. NiklasBerg

    NiklasBerg

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    I use "." for decimal separator normally, but I noticed that the editor used "," so I tried both with the same result.
     
  12. Acreates

    Acreates

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Posts:
    25
  13. develucas

    develucas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I can confirm this issue using linux editor 2018.2.0f2. In particular, the 3rd basic tutorial, I'm unable to move further at step 5 as the tutorial doesn't discover new value entered, no matter what you're trying to do with the field.
     
  14. Stipsonov

    Stipsonov

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here.
    Tutorial 3 instructs to put speed 1 and that doesn't work, but if you put speed 10 it validates as correct. And the level is solvable. So probably just a typo.

    Tutorial 4 is also a typo, but a severe one since the level stays unsolvable: x validates as -2, y validates as 25 and z validates as 100. But if you put it all correctly as that, block is way off scene so the laser ray stays uncut...
     
  15. devilhunterxl

    devilhunterxl

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I don't know. 10 doesn't help me.
     
  16. jeffersonkai93

    jeffersonkai93

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Yep had the same problem today. In tutorial 3 the 10 did it for me though. Maybe try deleting it all and typing it in again?Tutorial 4 was sadly not solvable as others pointed out already.
     
  17. faanbece

    faanbece

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    The problem is the instruction, it say 'market speed to 1', but the expected value is '10' ... Using Unity 2017.2.0b11 - ubuntu 2018.10.
     
  18. DevAlone

    DevAlone

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    same issue, it doesn't accept neither 1 nor 10. Unity 2018.3.0f2 Personal on Windows
     
  19. hepphep

    hepphep

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Having same issue with Unity 2018.3.0f2 on tutorial 3. Does not let me pass with value 1 (or value 10 either)

    Also have issues with tutorial 4, setting the y-coordinate of pushable box to 2.5 does not seem to validate the step.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018
  20. franconecat

    franconecat

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, for each tutorial this was my workaround:

    • 3. Tweaking Components: in my case 10 was accepted, the enemy moves too fast but is still playable.
    • 4. Prefab Power:
      • Enter the values like below to be able to continue the tutorial:
        • y: 25
        • z: 100
      • At this point the game is not solvable, so I closed the Tutorial Tab
      • Then edited the values as y: 2,5 and z: 10 to make the game solvable
      • Finally I opened the Tutorial Tab to continue the tutorial and solve the puzzle.
    Thank you and happy new year!
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2019
    reinhar2 likes this.
  21. unity_XQ8zM4PZUgBOIw

    unity_XQ8zM4PZUgBOIw

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi!
    I am new to unity and seem to be experiencing a problem. I cannot load the interactive tutorials on the 2018.2 version as they come out as pictured below. However the tutorial loads normally when version 2017.3 is used. Has anyone encountered a problem like this? upload_2019-1-8_13-26-31.png
     
  22. unity_Sx0Uv8eIJxKDEg

    unity_Sx0Uv8eIJxKDEg

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Also stuck on tutorial 3, step 5.

    Tried lots of values for speed but none works: 1 +1 1.0 1,0 1,1 10 11 100

    Wondering if this is some sort of onBlur issue...

    Unity 2018.3.0f2 Personal on Windows 0 64 bit.
     
  23. unity_Sx0Uv8eIJxKDEg

    unity_Sx0Uv8eIJxKDEg

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Fixed it!

    Basically I changed the Windows regional setting to Format > English(US or UK or Ireland, ...) and now Unity doesn't convert decimal separator to comma, keeps it as dot.

    I don't have any more problems setting speed=1 in tutorial 3 and Y=2.5 in tutorial 4.

    Hope this works for the rest of you.
     
    PixelJ and qFrct like this.
  24. Pzhuk

    Pzhuk

    Joined:
    Monday
    Posts:
    1
    +1
    Faced the same problem with setting speed = 1. And solution with changing of the Windows regional settings helped.
     
    qFrct likes this.