Search Unity

[Tutorial] Unity Remote install and configuration

Discussion in 'Android' started by dcr110, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. dcr110

    dcr110

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Hi everybody,

    Yesterday I was trying to install the Unity Remote and I have a lot of trouble until I get it to work. I get it to work from information from many forums and threads. Besides, in Brazilian play store i saw a lot of people saying the remote didn't work on Unity 4, which is not true, so I decided to write this tutorial to help other people to get it to work on Windows.

    1. Install Java jre or jdk. The version must be the same of your OS (32 bits or 64 bits): http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html

    2. Configure Java environment.
    2.1. Right-click the Computer icon on your desktop and select Properties (Shortcut: Windows+PauseBreak)
    2.2. Select Advanced System Settings
    2.3. Click the Advanced tab.
    2.4. Click the Environment Variables button.
    2.5. Under System Variables, click New.
    2.6. Enter the variable name as "JAVA_HOME" (without quotes) and jre or jdk path as the variable value, for example, C:\Program Files\Java\jre7. (In 64bits OS, make sure to take the java from "Program Files" and not from "Program Files (x86)")
    2.7. Edit the variable "Path" value, adding "%JAVA_HOME%\bin;" (without quotes) at the beginning.
    2.8. Hit "Ok".

    3. Install Android SDK from Google. Use the same version of your OS (32 bits or 64 bits): http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html . After installing, open the eclipse.exe, if it opens without error, everything is ok.

    4. Enable USB debugging in your device.

    5. Connect your Android device and install it's drivers. Go to Windows Device Manager (step 2.1 and then Device Manager) and see if the device doesn't have a yellow exclamation. If it has, you have to install the driver. On Windows 64 bits, maybe you have to disable the Windows driver signature. For Windows 8, see this post. For Windows 7, check this one. If you don't have the driver, try the Google one, start the Android SDK Manager and in the extra, check Google USB Driver and hit Install Package. After downloading, you can install following this instructions.

    6. Check the device installation through adb. With the device connected, open the command prompt, go to the adb folder (it's the platform-tools folder in SDK folder, the command is "cd path" where "path" is the path to platform-tools) type "adb kill-server" hit enter and then type "adb devices", hit enter. You should see your device under the "List of devices attached". If you don't see any device, you have a problem in your device installation.

    7. Configure Unity. Open Unity, go to Edit>Preferences>External Tools and tell Unity where the Android SDK is installed. Close Unity.

    8. Execute the Unity Remote. With the Unity closed, connect your device to your computer, start the Unity Remote and then open Unity. When you hit play the game must run in the computer and in your device.

    I saw some posts saying that in some cases you will have to run the step 6 every time you start Windows, so, if you have problems, you already know what to do!
     
  2. Leocesar

    Leocesar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    Thank you dcr110, my main problem was to get the right USB driver for my Samsung tablet Galaxy S3. Problem solved when I installed the official Samsung drivers packed in the Samsung Kies application.

    Agradeço pelo tutorial, melhor que as orientações da própria página do Unity.
     
  3. stenlik

    stenlik

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,
    The key factor there is that the Unity on PC must be started after:

    1) The Android phone is connected over USB cable
    2) The "adb devices" command recognizes the device (so proper drivers are installed)
    2) The Unity Remote runs on phone

    BR
    STeN
     
    shinatoX1 likes this.
  4. BWILL

    BWILL

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    USEFUL INFO:

    I am no expert, only 14 years old, but I was trying to set up the Unity Remote by following these instructions. I tried for about 6 hours and nothing ever worked.
    The issue was that I was using the following device: 9" Hipstreet FLARE 2 Google Certified Dual Core 8GB Tablet.
    Once I switched to the "huawei ascend y530" and followed these steps the remote started working. Therefore, if you are having any problems it may be the device you are using.

    I also looked at this website for additional help:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/tutorial-unity-remote-install-and-configuration.187194/

    I had to install usb drivers for my device at:
    http://developer.android.com/tools/extras/oem-usb.html

    P.S. thank you so much for this help, I was going insane.
     
  5. zico_mahilary

    zico_mahilary

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    hi... i cant understand this part... could anyone help please
    this is how far i managed to go
    Capture2.PNG
     
  6. PunkTilious

    PunkTilious

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Thank you very much for this post. Might have been all I needed was to reboot Unity, but it helped either way. :)
     
  7. ProjectSeven

    ProjectSeven

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Its works like a charm if these steps are followed. Thanks Yo !
     
  8. koothur19021

    koothur19021

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Oh man can't thank you enough. Thank you so much , it worked.
    But the play back is kind of laggy. Anyways to fix that ?
     
  9. Setmaster

    Setmaster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    194
    It works, thanks.
     
  10. Quazar_100

    Quazar_100

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    It works but I have no gyroscope input responding in Unity 5.
    Strangely, some months ago, everything worked smoothly on Unity 4.5
    Is anyone have same experiences ?
     
  11. Sek19

    Sek19

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    dcr110

    Hello! I would like to thank you dearly for your contribution to this issue of connecting unity with it's remote feature. This is something I've been struggle bussing with for quite some time. Really, I gave up for a long period of time it wasn't until today I found this post and finally got this to work because of your help in the matter! Keep being awesome and thanks for the wonderful help!!!!
     
  12. Rambert

    Rambert

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you, with this post i could check everything step by step.

    What i did:
    At first i installed the samsung usb drivers.
    Then the Google usb driver via SDK Manager and at the end i installed Samsung Kies again.

    After that i did Step 6 (...\SDK\platform-tools\adb devices) and got this message:
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port XXXX *
    * daemon started successfully *

    I repeated this Step and got this message:
    List of devices attached
    xxxxxxxx unauthorized

    ... and on the smart phone appeared the quester if i like to allow this computer to use the debug funktions.
    Now its working!!

    Tanks a lot!
     
  13. Quazar_100

    Quazar_100

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Please help me as it still doesn't work here.

    I've done everything you wrote here !

    Also, this post I followed & still nothing.

    Could it be a driver issue ? I can't think of something else ...
     
  14. Goodie848

    Goodie848

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    Excellent post dcr110.

    In my case, I think point 6 was crucial. After follow the instructions of this points, I have been succeed in running my projects on my mobile.

    After all the morning trying to fin out why I was not being able to test my projects on my mobile, you give me the solution.

    Thank you.
     
  15. danny1111

    danny1111

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    I've got a Vodafone Smart prime 6. What driver should I get because there isn't any for vodafone. Does anyone know who manufactures the Vodafone phones
     
  16. Andrew122222

    Andrew122222

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    28
    I tried these instructions and it still wasn't working. I finally figured out my issue, so hopefully it will help others too:

    When running adb.exe devices, it was also showing another device (as well as my phone). I didn't think this was an issue, but it was. I had Bluestacks installed (Android emulator), and after disabling it, Unity Remote started working on my phone.

    To stop the emulator, I did the following:
    1. Windows key+R
    2. Type services.msc
    3. Stop BlueStacks Android Service
    Hope this helps others.
     
  17. Zulqurnain

    Zulqurnain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Thank U Very much that was very helpfull, it's worked
     
  18. stark_sarthak

    stark_sarthak

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I was fed up with this problem for 6 hours or so and then i found the following solution :-

    BlueStacks (android emulating software) interferes with Unity's ability to communicate with a cable connected android device. So even if bluestacks is just installed on your system and not even running, it will interfere with Unity's remote app and it won't be able to run on your physical device connected via a cable. This is valid for android but I dont know about iOS because i don't use it.

    Solution - Open windows task manager and kill all tasks with the name "BS" or "Bluestacks" written on them. Then connect your device with Unity remote and follow the normal procedure as mentioned in all threads and tutorials. It shall work like a charm.

    This might not be valid for everyone who's unity remote is not working but I thought I'd just share my personal experience so it could help someone out.
     
  19. Rever1967

    Rever1967

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Posts:
    1
  20. Memborg1

    Memborg1

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for this solution. Works great.
    Used an LG G3 for this setup
     
  21. Behdadb

    Behdadb

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks a lot.
     
  22. babar_ec

    babar_ec

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks a million. I'm using Unity Remote 5 and the point 8 did the trick for me.
    8. Execute the Unity Remote. With the Unity closed, connect your device to your computer, start the Unity Remote and then open Unity. When you hit play the game must run in the computer and in your device.
     
  23. davidjoe

    davidjoe

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks God. It works like a charm
     
  24. Zodess

    Zodess

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Following these steps made my Unity Remote 5 work, after a few days of frustrating tries. Thank you!
     
  25. Ubrano

    Ubrano

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Grazie mille!
     
  26. EmeraldThunder

    EmeraldThunder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Posts:
    50
    Thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaank you it worked for me.....do exactly what is said in this tutorial....I had JDK 7.0 32 bit on my 64 bit PC but didnt work but then I installed JDK 9.0 64 bit on it then it worked.....thanks
     
  27. EmeraldThunder

    EmeraldThunder

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Posts:
    50
    now not working agaaaain :(
     
  28. gpaulguilfoyle

    gpaulguilfoyle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
unityunity