Search Unity

Feedback Turn-Based JRPG Skill-Based Battle Test

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by astracat111, May 4, 2019.

1. astracat111

astracat111

Hey there guys, I'm looking for some feedback on a video I've released recently for my project 'Astralojia'. It's a turn-based jrpg game, but it tries to create almost like a genre twist on the whole thing in that it uses skill bars.

It's a simple concept, you spar kids around town using martial arts and magic. This is the project I've been working on for about 2 1/2 years now full time, and I think it's really come a long way since I was using planes and cubes.

It's also designed to be a very difficult game, you get a very limited amount of money so that you can't just lvl up forever and then buy whatever you want. It's a very unforgiving experience in where you have to strategize in every episode. The idea is creating a completely and utterly grind-free jrpg, hopefully fully straying from the dungeon crawling that's plagued jrpgs for the longest time.

2. AkiraWong89

AkiraWong89

Haha. Remind me of early 80's Chinese RPG which are super hard too.
    I remember every battle is just enough resources, made it very tough. Nostalgic.

I just worry players nowadays won't enjoy this kind of difficulty much.
    Not like the old generation. Era changed, player psychology changed too.
    Nowadays if players encountered bottleneck, most of them will just give up.

So I strongly suggest you to make your game has several difficulties.
    Easy mode for players who just wanna enjoy the story more. Easy play.
    Normal mode for common players and hard mode for challengers.
    And nightmare mode for otakus if you want.

The skill bar system is actually not quite a twist for me.
    It's very common in most JRPG games such as Project Tokyo Dolls.
    This game also rely mostly the skill bar system to attack and defense.

I'm not commenting on your art first since I know that it's unfinished.