Search Unity

Turbo Switch PRO - Fast and save platform switches

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Stefan-Laubenberger, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. JohnnyFactor

    JohnnyFactor

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Posts:
    146
    That version worked great, thanks.

    I created caches for iOS and Android from a 3.5GB project and it produced 1.1 million files. That's 65% of the entire project folder, file count wise. Since my project is kept in a Dropbox folder, this made the dropbox app flip out from the enormous file count. I suspect other sync apps would react the same way.

    I suggest you expand the docs to mention the potential file system issues, which can be much more challenging than just running out of space.
     
  2. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi Johnny

    I apologize for the hassle our tool has caused!
    You are right, saving the caches on a cloud-drive isn't a good thing to do.
    This is one of the reasons we added the option "Custom Cache Path":
    upload_2018-9-21_20-14-19.png

    Please use a directory on your local drive to store the cache.
    We will add this to the documentation.

    Have a nice weekend!


    Cheers
    Stefan


    Edit:
    The documentation is already updated, see chapter 9.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018
  3. Rajmahal

    Rajmahal

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Posts:
    2,051
    Hi,

    How can I completely remove TPS from my project? I thought I had removed it by removing the TPS folder from my asset folder in the project but I still get reminders to update TPS. Can you please let me know how to get rid of it completely?

    thanks,
     
  4. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    Just delete "Assets/Plugins/crosstales" from your project.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  5. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    465
    Hi there,
    I'm switching from PC to Android and back very often and Unity keeps recompressing the textures every time, which can take a whole DAY when compressing to ASTC2.
    I suppose that's the goal of TPS, but I wonder how much does it differ from Unity's own cache server.
    I have read all the posts here and I have seen the speed comparison between cache server and TPS, but I wonder if this difference is still valid today, since the test was done more than 2 years ago.
    Also, how is it possible for TPS to be so much faster than Unity's cache server?
    I mean, what's the deal of a cache server if doesn't cache textures compression for each project target?
     
  6. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    465
    I was also considering Advanced Builder.
    Is TPS actually compatible with it?
     
  7. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi AtomicJoe

    The test is still valid today, please see the BOTD-demo:


    Don't ask me why the cache server is so bad :) But TPS is still 10x faster, so it's still useful today.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  8. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Unfortunately, the author wasn't willing to go the extra mile to support our asset. However, we will release soon our build tool called "Turbo Builder" - so stay tuned.
     
  9. tommynanny

    tommynanny

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    There seems to be some problem with the button having no text in it. :(
     
  10. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Please restart Unity and the problem should be gone.
     
  11. TigerHix

    TigerHix

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Turbo Switch stopped working for me suddenly.


    [Package Manager] Server::Kill -- Server was shutdown
    Cleanup mono

    Unhandled Exception: UnityEngine.UnityException: get_unityVersion is not allowed to be called while application is terminating.
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    at <0x00000> <unknown method>
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...
    Waiting for Unity to close...


    After Unity closes, nothing happens and I found above messages in the console. I am on macOS 10.14 Mojave and Unity 2018.3.0f2.
     
  12. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    We will investigate this behaviour as soon as we're back in our company in January.

    So long,
    Stefan
     
    TigerHix likes this.
  13. TigerHix

    TigerHix

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    The aforementioned issue still exists in 2019.1.0 of Turbo Switch. I'm upgraded to Unity 2018.3.2f1 but the situation is the same.
     
  14. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    Can you please try this: open "Helper.cs" under "Assets/Plugins/crosstales/TurboSwitch/Editor/Util" and uncomment line 1469-1476. Then re-try the switch.

    Does it work?


    So long,
    Stefan
     
    TigerHix likes this.
  15. TigerHix

    TigerHix

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    This worked for me! Finally, haha.
     
    Stefan-Laubenberger likes this.
  16. Imillionaire

    Imillionaire

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    switching from linux to android causes all of my textures to go super dark in game not sure whats causing it, all default settings are left alone. please help
     
  17. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    Have you set in "Player Settings" the Color Space to "Gamma"?
    Because "Linear" causes dark textures under Android.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  18. Imillionaire

    Imillionaire

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Posts:
    44
    will look into this thank you
     
  19. Ebonicus

    Ebonicus

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    92
    Just from past experience, I would advise you not to store unity projects on cloud drive.

    Mainly because when unity opens it and builds, it restructures the folders and content in a way that cannot be restored without much difficulty. So if you build in unity, and it crashes and you stop working, and project syncs to cloud, that cloud version is a pain to get working again if that is your only copy available.

    Same with zipping up a project folder while unity has it open and has built it. That zip won't work without corrections.

    Now I always close unity project, then zip and drag that to cloud for safe keeping.
     
    Stefan-Laubenberger likes this.
  20. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    We've just released 2019.2.1 of TPS.
    Main changes:
    • Pre- and post-method execution
    • Switcher: new variable "CurrentSwitchTarget" added
    • Updated to Common 2019.2.3
     
  21. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    The new version is in the store!
     
  22. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    We've just released version 2019.2.2 of TPS.
    Changes:
    • CLI improved
    • Editor improvements
    • Updated to Common 2019.2.5
     
  23. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    The new version is in the store!
     
  24. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    We've just released version 2019.2.3 of TPS.
    Main changes:
    • Automatically setup Unity after a switch
    • Editor UI cleanup
    • Updated to Common 2019.3.2
     
  25. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    The new version is in the store!
     
    iddqd likes this.
  26. CreationsPD

    CreationsPD

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Does the cache work across multiple projects?
     
  27. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    The default is one cache per project, but you can set the same cache folder manually for multiple projects.
    I'm unsure why you would do that, but little do I know ;)

    However, be aware that setting one cache for multiple, DIFFERENT projects will imho lead to severe consequences and probably ruin the projects - so please be careful!


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  28. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    396
    Hi @Stefan-Laubenberger, I'm having the same issue with Collaborate. When I switch to a new platform it wants me to pull all commits that have been made since I previously switched platforms.

    Anything I need to do to get it to work correctly?

    Thanks!
     
  29. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    Have you enabled "Collab" as vcs in the "Config"?
    upload_2019-6-25_22-45-27.png


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  30. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    396
    Hi Stefan, yes I have. The drop down option is now greyed-out but it still says Collab.
     
  31. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hmm, are you using a "Custom Path"?
     
  32. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    396
    Yes, I am using a custom path. Could that be the problem?
     
  33. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    I'm not sure - is the path outside of the project?
    Probably it's easier if you write me an email or join our Discord-channel.
     
  34. flashframe

    flashframe

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Posts:
    396
    Ok thanks, I'll email you!
     
    Stefan-Laubenberger likes this.
  35. CreationsPD

    CreationsPD

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    I'm currently using the unity cache system, I think I read you have to not be using that and this at the same time. Do I simply disable unity cache server then add this asset to the project?
     
  36. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Yes, you have to disable Unity's cache sever, like this:

    upload_2019-6-26_2-11-58.png
     
  37. johnfbest

    johnfbest

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I just bought your plugin and am excited to see it work!

    I have a git repo I am using to keep the project current between my Windows PC and Laptop, I am developing for Oculus Rift and Quest.

    Before I make a mistake:if I push the code on the PC platform from my PC, then when I pull it to my laptop, the laptop happens to be on the Android platform, will this mess anything up, will Unity load in to whatever the pull is?

    Thanks for any preemptive info anyone has.
     
  38. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi John

    TPS won't interfere with git. But you have to make sure you added the "Library"-folder to the .gitignore-file.

    I hope this answers your question.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  39. Pickyguy

    Pickyguy

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Hi. When switching platform after deleting folders, the folders are restored in empty. It will be great if it could be fixed.
     
  40. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi Pickyguy ;)

    Hmm, I don't understand - which folders do you exactly mean?

    Thank you!


    So long,
    Stefan
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2019
  41. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    We've just released version 2019.3.0 of TPS.
    Main changes:
    • Updated for Unity 2017.4 and higher
    • Added compatibility with assembly definitions
    • Collab folder excluded
    • Updated to Common 2019.4.0
     
  42. Pickyguy

    Pickyguy

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    This is reproduction steps.

    1. Make new project.
    2. Activate two platforms in the TPS
    3. Make a folder and copy some file into the folder.
    4. Switch to another platform in the TPS.
    5. Delete the folder which I have created.
    6. Switch back to previous platform in the TPS
    7. Deleted folder exists, but the folder is empty.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  43. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hello again

    Thank you for the details, now I understand the problem.

    That was a bug in the last version and is fixed in the new version 2019.3.0 (which is unfortunately still in Unitiy's review process).
    To fix it, please do the following steps:
    1. Open "Constants.cs"
    2. Change "DEFAULT_COPY_ASSETS" to false (line 133)
    3. Go to the "Config" tab an hit "Reset"
    4. Set your settings, like active platforms etc.
    5. Switch :)
    That should fix the issue you mentioned.
    Please let me know if it works for you.

    So long,
    Stefan
     
  44. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    The new version is in the store!
     
  45. Pickyguy

    Pickyguy

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    It works! Great!! Thank you so much :)
     
    Stefan-Laubenberger likes this.
  46. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    You're welcome!
     
  47. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    We've just released version 2019.3.1 of TPS.
    Main changes:
    • Updated for Unity 2019.2 and higher
    • Updated to Common 2019.4.1
     
  48. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    The new version is in the store!
     
  49. nicmarxp

    nicmarxp

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Posts:
    217
    Hi Stefan, that looks like an interesting tool, since I'm currently waiting to switch platforms.. :)

    I'm going to Unite Copenhagen, and they have a session that I'm going to attend:

    Refresh what you know about AssetDatabase.Refresh().
    The AssetDatabase has been rewritten. The more you know about how this API works, the stronger your code will be. This information can guide your decision-making for your own Asset Management strategies. For example, you do not need to reimport assets when you jump between platforms. In this session, you'll gain a deeper understanding of importing modified assets and tracking dependencies to improve your workflow and iteration time significantly.

    Are you aware of this, and does this replace the need for Turbo Switch Pro, or does it mean I need to code something myself?

    Also, do you support Nintendo Switch?

    Thanks!
     
  50. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,331
    Hi

    Nice, I will be there too!

    However, TPS was (and hopefully will always be) faster than Unity's cache server implementation. Currently, it's still 5x-10 faster than their solution in Unity 2019.2, so I'm quite confident that TPS will stay relevant for the years to come. ;)

    Nintendo Switch is supported.

    I hope this answers your question.


    Cheers
    Stefan