Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Turbo Builder - Fast build solution

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Stefan-Laubenberger, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    Dear developers!

    We proudly present our latest asset: Turbo Builder

    Turbo Builder creates builds for multiple platforms in one click. It works together with Turbo Switch to offer an incredible fast build pipeline.

    Turbo Builder is a great time-saving tool for your multi-platform projects.


    Features:
    Fast & efficient

    • Build multiple builds with one-click
    • The platform settings are the ones from Unity
    • Support for various VCS like Unity Collaborate, git, svn, Mercurial & PlasticSCM
    • Control TPB with CLI and integrate it seamlessly in your build pipeline
    • See the backup space usage

    Supported platforms
    Turbo Builder works with ALL platforms, but supports those out-of-the box:
    • Android
    • iOS
    • Linux
    • macOS
    • PS4
    • Switch
    • tvOS
    • WebGL
    • Windows
    • (UWP (WSA)
    • XboxOne

    Documentation & control
    • Powerful API for maximum control
    • Comprehensive documentation and support
    • Full C# source code

    Compatibility
    • Works with Windows, Mac and Linux editors
    • Compatible with Unity 2018.4 – 2022
    • C# delegates

    Integrations:


    Video:


    Some impressions:
    01-Build.PNG

    02-Config.PNG


    AssetStore:
    Turbo Builder PRO
    Turbo Suite Bundle
    All Tools Bundle

    Our other assets


    Changes


    Any constructive comments are very welcome!



    So long,
    Stefan
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2022
    firstuser and elmar1028 like this.
  2. bigbrainz

    bigbrainz

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    159
    Turbo Switch PRO has proved very useful, so we're looking at using this as well. I have a couple of questions:
    1. Can I generate iOS builds from my Windows machine or do I still have to use a Mac?
    2. Do I still have to go through all the XCode stuff each time or can that be included as part of what this does?
    3. Same question for Archiving and uploading from XCode--is that still separate?
    Thanks!
     
  3. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hi

    Thank you for your interest in our product!

    You can build an iOS app under Windows, but the whole Xcode-part must still be done on a Mac.
    A possible solution is the asset iOS Project Builder for Windows

    I hope this helps you further.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  4. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    We've just released version 2020.5.2 of Turbo Builder.
    Main changes:
    • Planned final release for 2020
    • Example integration improved
    • New Youtube video added:
    • Updated to Common 2020.4.7
     
  5. Kabrakan

    Kabrakan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks!!
     
    Stefan-Laubenberger likes this.
  6. AlienFreak

    AlienFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    39
    Dudes, I frickin love this thing! TB Switch was awesome and this just works smooth as butter first time building to Android, iOS, Mac and PC.

    Questions:
    1. Is there a way to get TBP to take the Xcode project and compile it, and output the archive (what we submit to the App Store) to a specified directory? Maybe as a Method in Config? (FYI, I'm on a Mac)
    2. Zip Method? Could you give me a sample Method in the TBP Config section for say zipping the contents of a build and putting that in a directory?
    3. Git Method? How about an example Method for getting the latest git at the start of all builds?
    Thanks,

    Don
     
  7. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    I wrote you an answer via email.
     
  8. AlienFreak

    AlienFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    39
    Still loving TBP. I've switched up my project to using Addressables. This requires building Addressables for each platform and before the platform is built. Is there any support for building Addressables using TBP?
     
  9. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hi

    Have you tried "AddressableRebuilder.cs" from "Assets\Plugins\crosstales\TurboBuilder\Example Integration\Editor"?
    You have to open the file and change line 1 from "false" to "true.

    Does that help?


    So long,
    Stefan
     
  10. JustFamous

    JustFamous

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Can i build on Android without switching to that platform?
     
  11. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hi

    To create a build for a given platform, Unity always has to switch to it.
    Anyway, if you want to have the same default platform after every build, you could edit the file "SwitchBackAfterBuild.cs" under "Assets\Plugins\crosstales\TurboBuilder\Example Integration\Scripts\Editor".
    Just remove the first and second last line in the file and change the variable "target" (line 11) to your desired default target.

    I hope this helps you further.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
  12. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    We've just released version 2022.1.1 of Turbo Builder.
    Main changes:
    • Editor-folders moved to Scripts
    • Updated to Common 2022.1.2
     
  13. versusco

    versusco

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Hello Stefan, we use TurboBuilder quite a lot and recently start using TurboSwitch as well.

    I think there is one thing could be upgraded for building multi- configurations.
    For example:
    For each platform, we need to build couple configurations, and its differentiate from platform to platform.
    Each configuration may have some different setting overrides

    Windows client
    Windows local server
    Windows headless server
    Linux headless server
    Playstation Client
    Playtation Server
    Andorid companion app
    iOs companionion app

    if turbo build can create an inteface for hooking up a scriptable obect to define override setting for each platform would be super useful
     
  14. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hi

    Thank you for using our tools!

    We recommend that you take a look at the "Example Integration" - you could create you own menu or window that allows you to build all your versions.
    If you need help, let us know.

    However, your input is very valuable and we plan to do something like you proposed, but it's not a quick&easy task and has to be planned and implemented accordingly (which will need time). So we can't give a promise nor ETA right now.

    I hope this helps you further.


    Cheers
    Stefan
     
    versusco likes this.
  15. versusco

    versusco

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Posts:
    4

    Great to know its in active development ;)

    yes we have been doing our own interface on top, but its not as ideal as you guys having it out of box.
    Would love to see that coming. That said, one extra note.

    CLI access to specify witch overriding scriptable asset to be involved would also really help automation.

    Question:
    is the TurboSwitch caches being used for build?
    is the caching includes some of the library folder like, package cache folder?
    how about custom packages are they cached as well?
     
  16. Stefan-Laubenberger

    Stefan-Laubenberger

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,850
    It depends on the Unity-version. If you are using 2020 or newer, TurboSwitch no longer caches any data and uses Unity to do the job. Otherwise, you can configure which folders are cached.
     
unityunity