Search Unity

Trying to understand the basic of networking, why it doesn't work?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by flocool, Feb 9, 2020.

1. flocool

flocool

Hello,

I am new to Nertworking in Unity. I read many website pages, I watch some Youtube videos, but I am not able to understand why my code doesn't work ... I'm confused.

Just to understand how it works:
    - I've created a scene with just NetworkManager + NetworkManagerHUD
    - I've created a second scene with 1 text et 1 button.
    Here is what I want: when someone click on the button, the text is updated with the elapsed time.
    Here is my code:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. [SyncVar]    public float toto = 3;
    3.     [Command]
    4.     public void CmdChange()
    5.     {
    6.         toto = Time.time;
    7.         RpcChangeValue(toto);
    8.     }
    10.     [ClientRpc]
    11.     void RpcChangeValue(float value)
    12.     {
    13.         GameObject.Find("TextPanel").GetComponent<Text>().text = value.ToString();
    14.     }
    When I click on the button, it calls the "CmdChange" method.
    If I click from the server, the text change on both server and client. But if I click from the client, nothing change. If the client is Unity, here is the message I have in the console:
    => RPC Function RpcChangeValue called on client

I really don't understand, I've followed a tutorial where the guy did the exact same thing (but he doesn't use a button). Do you have any idea?

Thanks.
    I really want to understand how it works, to implement Networking then on the board game I've developed on Unity.

Btw, I know that NetworkBehaviour is deprecated, but we don't have any other package/class/method from Unity if I'm right.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2020
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored