Search Unity

Question Trying to respawn pickups after they're all gone

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by aldenchappell, Sep 27, 2022.

1. aldenchappell

aldenchappell

I'm attempting to make my pickups respawn after the player has picked all of them up. I have tried several different ways of wording my "respawn" code, and cannot seem to get it to work. I am a beginner so any tips/advice you can supply me with is much appreciated!

Here is my script:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class Player : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     public GameObject blueCube, redCube, greenCube; //declares pickup objects
    4.     public float speed = 10f; // declares float speed and assigns a speed
    5.     private Rigidbody rb; // declares a rigidbody component for player
    6.     private Renderer playerRenderer; // declares a renderer component for player
    7.     private int pickupTotal; //declares an int for the total number of pickups
    8.     private int pickupCounter; //declares an int for the pickup counter
    12.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    13.     void Start()
    14.     {
    15.         rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody>(); // calling rigidbody component for player's rigidbody
    16.         playerRenderer = GetComponent<Renderer>(); // calls renderer component for raycasting to paint puddles
    17.         //GetComponent<Renderer>().material.color = colorBlue; // calls color component to load player's color at start
    18.         pickupTotal = 10; // gives value to the total number of pickups
    19.         pickupCounter = pickupTotal; // gives the value of the pickup total to the pickup counter
    20.         GenerateAllPickups(); // calls generateallpickups method
    21.     }
    24.     void GeneratePickup()
    25.     {
    26.         int randomCubeNum = Random.Range(1, 4); // declares and initializes range of the 3 different cubes