Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Trying to profile/optimize my game (2DRenderer + 2DLights) could use some advice

Discussion in '2D Experimental Preview' started by Jamez0r, May 22, 2020.

1. Jamez0r

Jamez0r

Hey guys, I've been working on my game for about 6 months now, using the 2DRenderer with 2D Lights.

A couple months ago I was getting around 250fps when playing the game. Testing it now, I'm getting 90-110 fps. I can't think of anything I've added/changed that would be causing the low framerate. I'm trying to profile the game, but having difficulty figuring out what exactly I can do about the things that are taking high percentage of CPU/GPU.

I'm running a standalone Development Build of the game with the Profiler attached.

[Above] In-game screenshot - not too much going on. I'm using the 2D lights system with point-lights, and the Player has a normalmap. Theres some foreground images, and theres a rain particle effect. I'm only getting 103 fps.

[Above] Profiler showing CPU usage.
    The top highlighted line says ParticleSystem.WaitForPreMapping, and it is taking 36.9% CPU time. I googled ParticleSystem.WaitForPreMapping as well as ParticleSystem.ScheduleGeometryJobs and coudln't find any information. The only particles that are currently active is the Rain particle effect. Probably around 300 or 400 active particles. There must be something weird going on to cause this 36.9% CPU usage, but without knowing what WaitForPreMapping is, I have no idea what to do.

I also highlighted the Render 2D Lighting CPU-usage which is only taking 5.1%. I don't have any other information/reference point to compare that to, but it seems pretty good.

[Above] Profiler showing GPU usage.