Search Unity

Trying to make first prefab asset - how to go from Painter to Unity?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by johnyelland1234, Nov 26, 2018.

1. johnyelland1234

johnyelland1234

Hello, I'm new to the forum, but not new to Unity. Still I am a noob really. I want to eventually make my own game, and some mostly free assets for the the game and store.

I've just got a new laptop and bought Substance Painter on Steam. I created a hi-res model in blender and exported it as a .obj and .fbx. I UV unwrapped them before this.

I imported the FBX file into painter and painted it. Just a simple 205ltr drum:

Now, I followed the Unity video tutorial and exported from Painter with Unity 5 presets, got the following files:

Now the question is, how do I now compile these files into a prefab so that the drum/asset can be added to Unity as an asset and then dragged and dropped into its scene?

I've done a search on this forum, and Youtube. It'd be awesome if there was a program where you just add the files and click 'go'.

If I try to add the .obj to my scene, it's the right size, but theres no tetures on it. If I add the .fbx, it's huge with no textures on it.

Any help? :)

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Models in games are made up of two different parts:

The Mesh contains the vertices that make up the structure. It also contains the UV Map indicating how those 3D points map to a 2D plane. This is generally an FBX or OBJ file.

The Texture indicates how the triangles of a mesh's UV map should be displayed on screen. Usually a PNG or JPG. There are a lot of different types of texture files, and the engine uses them all differently.
    • The Albedo texture is your normal color information.
    • The Metallic/Specular texture represents how reflective a surface is.
    • The Smoothness texture would represent how much distortion/noise is applied to that reflection (I think... not totally clear on this one, to be honest)