Search Unity

Trying to install inputsimulator Plugin

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ffertigo, Apr 7, 2018.

  1. ffertigo

    ffertigo

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    I want to simulate a keyboard key and found the plugin inputsimulator from here: https://archive.codeplex.com/?p=inputsimulator


    But it seems I can't get it to install right. I put the folder inputsimulator from the folder sourceCode to my Asset folder. It seems that the library is recognized in Monodevelop but i don't get all the methods like in this screen from their website that should be there:





    It also doesn't work when i type something like:
    InputSimulator.SimulateKeyPress(VirtualKeyCode.VK_A);

    I get this error in the console with the code above: WindowsInput.InputSimulator' does not contain a definition for `SimulateKeyPress'




    Do I need to compile the sourcecode first from the plugin or how can i install it? I know many people are using this plugin in unity. Thanks in advance!
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2018
  2. gfoxworthy

    gfoxworthy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    Bump... It's not working for me either!
     
  3. gfoxworthy

    gfoxworthy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    After spending a little more time with it, I discovered how to properly get this working in Unity 2017.3.1.

    The code below will create a new InputSimulator. I have a Canvas in my scene, with a UI Button that calls ButtonPress (rigged in the editor). It works!

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.UI;
    5. using WindowsInput;
    6.  
    7. public class Test : MonoBehaviour
    8. {
    9.  
    10.     InputSimulator IS;
    11.  
    12.     // Use this for initialization
    13.     void Start()
    14.     {
    15.         IS = new InputSimulator();
    16.     }
    17.  
    18.     public void ButtonPress()
    19.     {
    20.         IS.Keyboard.KeyPress(WindowsInput.Native.VirtualKeyCode.VK_A);
    21.     }
    22.  
    23.     // Update is called once per frame
    24.     void Update()
    25.     {
    26.         if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.A))
    27.         {
    28.             Debug.Log("A");
    29.         }
    30.     }
    31.  
    32.  
    33.  
    34. }
    35.  
     
    chelnok likes this.
  4. yousuffahim8

    yousuffahim8

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    @gfoxworthy How did you run Input Simulator in Unity. I cannot import "using WindowsInput;". Please help me.
     
  5. bekiryanik

    bekiryanik

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Posts:
    191
    I couldn't run input simulator too. Is there anyone who knows how to do it?
     
  6. geoapps33

    geoapps33

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello everyone after some installation problems in unity that are solved by deleting some files, I was able to run the code I needed ... THANK YOU BUT THANK YOU MY FRIENDS for the help
     
  7. miraclestar

    miraclestar

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    14