Search Unity

Trying to display combat log but windowID not resetting on level load?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Jeepster, Apr 7, 2021.

1. Jeepster

Jeepster

Hi,

I have a combat log that displays who killed whom but it only works in the first level of a tournament. On second level load and onwards the log is not displayed. Here's the code:

This function is called OnGUI with *
    Code (CSharp):
    2. void CombatWindowFunction(int windowID )
    3.     {
    4.         GUILayout.Label(combatLog, myStyle);
    5.         Debug.Log("We should see the combat log");
    7.     }
    * this line (inside OnGUI) :
    windowRect = GUI.Window(4, windowRect, CombatWindowFunction, "Death Log");

But I know the issues stems from the "int windowID" because my Debug.Log isn't called on second level load whilst another debug inside OnGUI is.
    So since "int windowID" should be unique according to the API, should I reset it on level load or how do I do this?

2. Brathnann

Brathnann

Well...first, why are you using OnGui instead of the new UI?

Second...we don't have enough info. Showing that single method tells us nothing about what windowID is.

Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

How can windowID be the problem when you never use windowID? Legacy GUI stuff isn't really recommended for in game use anymore outside of hidden dev debug displays. Though I thought they finally ripped all this stuff out, but I'm probably wrong.

4. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

I think they just removed the "GUI Layer" object they used to stick beside the Camera. It's no longer needed apparently.

And just what API might this be?

Joe-Censored likes this.
  5. Jeepster

Jeepster

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/GUI.Window.html
    I see it's not the same ID now. Still don't know what causes the issue or how to fix it though

6. Jeepster

Jeepster