Search Unity

Trying to create a folding closet door in Unity

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Fauxtrot, Aug 19, 2015.

1. Fauxtrot

Fauxtrot

I went and downloaded a Blender model for a closet door that features door folding - when you pull open a door and it folds in half as it opens. The model in Blender contains some armatures for pushing and pulling open the doors while in Pose mode. It's pretty neat, but trying to re-create this feature in Unity has left me pretty lost. I tried fiddling with the model in Unity via changing the rig settings in the model import settings (sadly, I have very little knowledge in rigging so I'm not quite sure what I'm doing), attempting to attach the folding doors as rigidbody objects with a hinge joint (no dice), creating an animation with the folding doors (which I also have no experience in and would create a result that wouldn't be what I'm looking for, details below), and some variants of those attempts.

My desired end result would be to have a working closet door that would behave similarly to a single rigidbody door with a hinge joint. I have a current system for doors that behaves similarly to the grabbing system in popular survival horror games like Amnesia: The Dark Descent. It needs tweaking, but gets the main idea across for the time being.
    private IEnumerator DoorGrab() {
    if(!isLocked) {
    while(!Input.GetKeyUp(KeyCode.Mouse0)) {
    rigidbody.AddForce((player.transform.position - playerPosOff) * 500); //500 feels about right.

playerPosOff = Vector3.Slerp(playerPosOff, player.transform.position, 0.5f);

yield return null;
    }
    }
    }
    I wouldn't be asking a forum unless I was very lost on a problem, which I am right now. In what way could I start working to achieve this result? Alternatively, would it be easier to just trigger a door-opening animation when I left-click on the closet door (which I really want to avoid)?