Search Unity

Question Trying to Add Jumping Script with the PlayerController Component

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by CableEight, Jun 8, 2021.

1. CableEight

CableEight

I'm a beginner working on creating what I want to call a "simple" player controller for a 3D Project. I've used Brackey's "THIRD PERSON MOVEMENT in Unity" tutorial to get a functioning camera and movement across the plane with my player object. Now, I'm attempting to add jumping through a separate script using the scripting API's CharacterController.Move section. Which looks like this:

upload_2021-6-8_13-13-11.png

The comments mark my understanding of the different sections of code. Now time to get to the main error in my Debug Menu:

NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    PlayerJump.Update () (at Assets/Scripts/PlayerJump.cs:23)

I don't know exactly what is missing a reference, is it something related to my player object? Or possibly a variable within the code? I know this pertains to the void Update() section, but that's about as far as I can comprehend. Any help is appreciated! :)

2. CableEight

CableEight

I just noticed I'm missing the initial declaration "public CollisionFlags Move(Vector3 motion);" but I net pretty similar reference errors, probably due to placement of this declaration. I'm still unsure if this best fits in a void Start() or in the same clump of variables declared before the void Update()

3. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Fortunately the answer is always the same... ALWAYS. It is the single most common error ever.

Don't waste your life spinning around and round on this error. Instead, learn how to fix it fast... it's EASY!!

Some notes on how to fix a NullReferenceException error in Unity3D
    - also known as: Unassigned Reference Exception
    - also known as: Missing Reference Exception
    - also known as: Object reference not set to an instance of an object

http://plbm.com/?p=221

The basic steps outlined above are: