Search Unity

Trouble using Face Capture on Synty Studios Characters

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by RybiconZX, Sep 3, 2021.

1. RybiconZX

RybiconZX

I've seen other posts with similar issues with no answer so maybe I'll try adding more detail. Basically I got Face Capture working with the sample scene provided by the package manager after a small hiccup with Windows Defender Firewall and it works great!

I was able to record a take (.anim file) with the sample scene.

Then I thought I could apply this animation to a Synty Character using a timeline (honestly I have no idea what I'm doing, I'm a programmer and not an animator) and it predictably messed up the timeline animation. I figured that the reason for this is because the sample scene has a head with a rig and who knows how that is going to be different compared to another random rig.

So then I opened the Face Capture sample scene again, dragged in my Synty Character prefab and added the ARKit Face Actor component to it and created a new mapper file. The Synty models are pretty basic so I'm just trying to get the head movement working, maybe later I'll try to split out the eyes and and blend shapes.

After messing around with the mapper and getting it looking similar to the SampleHead prefab I moved to the New FaceDevice object in the scene and dragged over my Synty character from the scene to the Actor field. Once I do that the character crumples into a ball and their head twists back to the right like they just looked at the Arc of the Covenant or something.

I'm not sure if this is specific to just Synty characters or what but I cannot get this tool to work for anything other than the SampleHead. If anyone knows how to not have my character crumple into a ball or point me in the right direction I would be very grateful, thanks :)

peterparnes likes this.
  2. akent99

akent99

Disclaimer - I am still learning, but maybe something in here will help you work it out.